Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline kpallund  
#1 Posted : 05 September 2023 16:38:56(UTC)
kpallund

Denmark   
Joined: 19/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen
Hi All,

I finally bought a 3071 set with two 4071 - most like with the wrong coaches in, but never mind that.
The problem is that wiring to the direction-changer is all wrong.
It only runs from the locos pickup shoe and there are no lights working.

Does anyone have a wiring diagram for the 3071 and its quite elaborate direction changer,
or some nice pictures where you can deduct the wiring.

Note. I DO plan on making it digital, but I would just like to see it run analog once before the conversion.

/Kenneth
Offline mike c  
#2 Posted : 05 September 2023 16:48:25(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,947
Location: Montreal, QC
You have to make sure that your set is a 3071 and not a 3070. The same with the 4071 and not a 4070.
The earlier model (3070) had wiring with 3 pins. The later version (3071) had only two pins.

In forward direction, the model picks up the traction power from the leading slider and the lights from the trailing one. When the reverse pulse is activated, a relay clicks and the power selection is inverted.

The best way to test this model is to initially connect the power unit and pilot coach. Once tested and confirmed that it works, you can add the middle coach (restaurant). You can then add the single extra coach (4071) between the power unit and the restaurant. If, at some point, the train stops working, it will have something to do with the most recent connection.

If the trainset will not operate with just the power unit and the pilot coach, then there is likely a problem with the power unit.

Regards

Mike C
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by mike c
Offline mike c  
#3 Posted : 05 September 2023 16:50:19(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,947
Location: Montreal, QC
I don't know if this helps: https://www.marklin-user...4-TEE-3071---Help-needed

Regards

MC
Offline mike c  
#4 Posted : 05 September 2023 16:51:38(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,947
Location: Montreal, QC
You can buy the manual here: https://www.ebay.de/itm/295548944908

MC
Offline kpallund  
#5 Posted : 05 September 2023 17:29:29(UTC)
kpallund

Denmark   
Joined: 19/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen
It seems to be a 3071 - according to kolls.
It has no interior lights and no silver around the windows.
And only 2 pins connector.
Offline kpallund  
#6 Posted : 05 September 2023 17:34:39(UTC)
kpallund

Denmark   
Joined: 19/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen
Markus Schild posted a link to the same "manual"
https://www.marklin-user...--Help-needed#post553754
In the same page you linked to.
The manual, unfortunately, does not show the wiring - only how to open, lubricated and so on.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kpallund
Offline PeFu  
#7 Posted : 05 September 2023 17:49:19(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 1,212
I have a 3071 set extended with two additional coaches, i.e. 5 units in total. I installed an ESU Loksound decoder in it. My layout is ”completely” digital, i.e. there are no stopping areas where power is controlled by on/off. Therefore, I removed the relay and only use one pickup shoe on the train. Instead, the two wires running through the train, I use for powering LED strips in all units. (Actually, I tested the light by using one of the decoder’s AUX outputs, and left it like that even if this probably is at the capacity limit)

Smile
Andreasburg-Mattiasberg Bahn is inspired by Swiss railways |Forum Thread |Track Plan |Youtube | C and K track | CS2 | TrainController Gold V10
Offline hxmiesa  
#8 Posted : 06 September 2023 13:04:59(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,533
Location: Spain
Even though we always say that there exist exceptions for everything in real life, I´m pretty sure I´ve never seen the RAm running with more than 4 units (including the engine).
For prototypical running, the train should never be longer than the 4 initial units...
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by hxmiesa
H0
Offline mike c  
#9 Posted : 06 September 2023 17:15:58(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,947
Location: Montreal, QC
There were only 5 such trainsets, 2 Swiss and 3 Dutch and each one was composed of four units, motor unit, open seating coach, restaurant and pilot coach. There were no additional coaches to lengthen any of the trainsets. Even in use in Canada, they remained as the relatively short trainsets.

Regards

Mike C
Offline kpallund  
#10 Posted : 07 September 2023 07:30:09(UTC)
kpallund

Denmark   
Joined: 19/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen
I think I got the wiring right now, from looking at the video on one of the referenced pages.
But can it be right that the red light always lights up - no matter the direction ??
Offline TrainIride  
#11 Posted : 07 September 2023 08:10:13(UTC)
TrainIride

France   
Joined: 23/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,950
Location: FRANCE
Originally Posted by: kpallund Go to Quoted Post
I think I got the wiring right now, from looking at the video on one of the referenced pages.
But can it be right that the red light always lights up - no matter the direction ??


That's right !
The red light always lights up !

You can see it a the beginning of my video :



Best Regards
Joël

Edited by user 07 September 2023 11:58:53(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tonyfh  
#12 Posted : 07 September 2023 09:38:39(UTC)
tonyfh


Joined: 17/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 121
Location: Netherlands
Maybe a bit late but here are cut-outs of the original exploded view:
3071 schema.pdf (61kb) downloaded 33 time(s).

3071 detail.pdf (148kb) downloaded 26 time(s).

Are you sure the red light is always on? According to the description in the catalogue of 1985 the lights should change with the direction.
Maybe the shield pos. 31 is missing?

Succes, Tony.
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by tonyfh
Offline TrainIride  
#13 Posted : 07 September 2023 09:56:47(UTC)
TrainIride

France   
Joined: 23/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,950
Location: FRANCE
Originally Posted by: tonyfh Go to Quoted Post
Maybe a bit late but here are cut-outs of the original exploded view:
3071 schema.pdf (61kb) downloaded 33 time(s).

3071 detail.pdf (148kb) downloaded 26 time(s).

Are you sure the red light is always on? According to the description in the catalogue of 1985 the lights should change with the direction.
Maybe the shield pos. 31 is missing?

Succes, Tony.


Hi Tony,

Thank you for the schematics !
For the 3071, the lights change with the direction, but only the white lights.
As white bulb face the plastic that conducts the light,
and the red bulb is placed under the white one, it's the white light that wins when lit.

Best Regards
Joël

Offline kpallund  
#14 Posted : 07 September 2023 11:54:33(UTC)
kpallund

Denmark   
Joined: 19/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen
Originally Posted by: tonyfh Go to Quoted Post
Maybe a bit late but here are cut-outs of the original exploded view:
3071 schema.pdf (61kb) downloaded 33 time(s).

3071 detail.pdf (148kb) downloaded 26 time(s).

Are you sure the red light is always on? According to the description in the catalogue of 1985 the lights should change with the direction.
Maybe the shield pos. 31 is missing?

Succes, Tony.



That was exactly was I was looking for the other day, but luckily I wired it the same way BigGrin
And from looking at the schematic its clear that the red light is permanently connected to the back
slider, but when the wight light is on it overpowers the red.

/Kenneth
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kpallund
Offline tonyfh  
#15 Posted : 08 September 2023 09:43:15(UTC)
tonyfh


Joined: 17/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 121
Location: Netherlands
You are welcome.

And about the red lamps always on, I studied the schematics and you are right, they are always on, thanks for sending me in the right direction.

Tony.
Offline PeFu  
#16 Posted : 18 September 2023 22:12:15(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 1,212
Originally Posted by: hxmiesa Go to Quoted Post
Even though we always say that there exist exceptions for everything in real life, I´m pretty sure I´ve never seen the RAm running with more than 4 units (including the engine).
For prototypical running, the train should never be longer than the 4 initial units...
I noticed now, I actually have a 6 units train. Realistic or not, IMHO it looks great BigGrin

IMG_0345.jpeg

Andreasburg-Mattiasberg Bahn is inspired by Swiss railways |Forum Thread |Track Plan |Youtube | C and K track | CS2 | TrainController Gold V10
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by PeFu
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.735 seconds.