Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline williechan  
#1 Posted : 24 February 2007 01:23:25(UTC)
williechan

I have also posted this message in the "digital" section:

Hello! I am new to Marklin 1 and to model trains since I was a much younger child 40 years ago. I have assembled a large amount of track, cars and locos through various sources and am now contemplating a layout. I am using a start set with Marklin 6021 control unit which I have set in the 1/on, 2/on, 3/on, 4/off position. The two engines which came with the set are operating fine with functions, no sound. Other engines I have purchased used are not working although I have tried only limited number because I don't wish to damage them. 55151 K.P.E.V. G8 (BR55) is responding to ID (08) with lights forward and reverse but not dealing with sound, cabin lights, etc. I have also noticed intermittent illumination of the downlights along the loco body and even "St. Elmos Fire" around the drive wheels. What is going on?

Other locos include following: 5706 steam, 5799 steam, loco from K.P.E.V. set 5502, 5750 der Adler set, 5758 Krocodil. Do these run digital already or do they need conversion?

I have one additional loco coming from Germany 5574 which has been converted with Loksound system. Also coming from Germany is about 300 feet of aditional track for entire layout including Hubner and Hegob items and turnouts.

Now we need to decide control system. There are many electric turnouts and already ten engines. There is only one control unit so it is time to scrap that if we need to and get started with the most scalable system. I will attend Spur 1 Tage in Sensheim in June to decide control systems but would like some input.

In the meantime, how do I get these other locos and engines running for testing, converting to sound, etc...???