Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Klaussic  
#1 Posted : 12 January 2023 01:41:25(UTC)
Klaussic

United States   
[color=blue]
Hello Everbody, I am the new guy. BigGrin

After around 55 years of exemption from model railroads, I finally got back into it. But when I started playing with Märklin H0 back in Germany in the golden 60ies, new trains were all analog and still affordable at below 100 Deutschmarks. Nowadays, and opposed to 6 decades ago, everything is now digital, insanely expensive, and I feel somewhat overwhelmed with all that added technology. Confused

I’m trying to find some reasonable deals on eBay for tracks and trains to get a starter platform together. But when I look up some more technical specs, I find myself with the difficulty to learn if, in example, the transformer for the tracks is suitable for 110V (that’s what we have in the US). Hence, I thought it might be a good idea to join this forum and see if there are some enthusiasts with knowledge in my area (greater New Orleans area in Louisiana). I would have to learn again from scratch and would like to build some nice railroad environments for my grandkids. Anybody in this forum willing to hold my hand as I go through this process? I may need tons of advices and recommendations to build the right thing and not to buy junk. And if you are from this area, I really would love to meet one day for some Märklin lessons.

Many thanks in advance for your invaluable input.

K
thanks 6 users liked this useful post by Klaussic
Offline marklinist5999  
#2 Posted : 12 January 2023 18:26:36(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States