Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline W3Machinist  
#1 Posted : 18 November 2022 19:50:04(UTC)
W3Machinist

United States   
I am a novice on digital, and wish to understand the uses of the 2295, its advantages and disadvantages and how it compares to mechanical circuit track or magnetic circuit track?
thank you for any help you can give!
W3machinist
Offline cintrans  
#2 Posted : 22 November 2022 02:02:24(UTC)
cintrans

Aruba   
Hi there

I did not see any reaction on your question, so let me take a shot at trying to answer you....

These two pieces of rail have an open (cut) in one side of the rails, so you can effectively isolate one side of a certain length of track with it. The moment a lok or rolling stock goes over that piece of track, the isolated part will become "energized" (by the "0" side of the Marklin circuit) via the axles of the train. Could be used to power e.o. a crossing or similar stuff.

Advantage:
No moving parts, a "signal" as long as the train is between the two "open" points in the track instead of the momentary signal of the mechanical one....

Hope this helps

Regards
Jean-Pierre
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by cintrans
Offline river6109  
#3 Posted : 22 November 2022 02:35:50(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
It is handy when you've got a siding or station tracks and you would like to run your trains automatic, if you locate your contact tracks on either end side of the siding, anything that is on this track will energize this track and tells (memory, S88's, track plan) there is something on this track and another train will not enter this track., it is usually placed behind the closest point of turnouts., whereas the outside tack is live and the inside track is mute unless there are wheels on the track.