Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline mitchnz  
#1 Posted : 12 August 2022 02:56:16(UTC)
mitchnz

New Zealand   
I am a complete novice when it comes to the wiring on my layout. I have a mate helping me and every time we finish a section we find that the lights on the points are lit up at all times. He has decided that is being caused by a short in the wiring but as every thing else is working he takes the bulbs out. I have just finished a section by myself and am unable to find any wiring fault but the lights on the points are as usual lit up. My question is "is this a fault or are the points supposed to remain lit up to make it easier to determine which way the points are set.". Any assistance would be appreciated thank you.
Offline Mark5  
#2 Posted : 12 August 2022 04:51:48(UTC)
Mark5

Canada   
Originally Posted by: mitchnz Go to Quoted Post
I am a complete novice when it comes to the wiring on my layout. I have a mate helping me and every time we finish a section we find that the lights on the points are lit up at all times. He has decided that is being caused by a short in the wiring but as every thing else is working he takes the bulbs out. I have just finished a section by myself and am unable to find any wiring fault but the lights on the points are as usual lit up. My question is "is this a fault or are the points supposed to remain lit up to make it easier to determine which way the points are set.". Any assistance would be appreciated thank you.

Hi Mitch,

Welcome to the Forum!
Yes, traditional M-track points have lights that stay illuminated. It has nothing to do with a short in the wiring.
If you take out the light bulbs the points will work just as well, they just will not have illuminated directional markers.