Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Timnomads  
#1 Posted : 18 November 2021 12:21:34(UTC)
Timnomads

Switzerland   
Joined: 16/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 239
Location: Grandvaux - Lausanne - Switzerland
Dear All

I have now seen that ESU have released an Am 842 SBB CARGODrool , its a loco I have wanted for a long time, seeing them working near Lausanne Renens when I pass on the train to work.

This loco ESU 31305

31305_900.jpg

I would like our Experts to please confirm that this loco will work with my Marklin CS3 with all the digital functionality.
Will it couple and decouple automatically with Marklin Close couplers ?

thanks

Tim
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Timnomads
Offline ktsolias  
#2 Posted : 18 November 2021 22:28:02(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 546
Location: Athens
Originally Posted by: Timnomads Go to Quoted Post
Dear All

I have now seen that ESU have released an Am 842 SBB CARGODrool , its a loco I have wanted for a long time, seeing them working near Lausanne Renens when I pass on the train to work.

This loco ESU 31305

31305_900.jpg

I would like our Experts to please confirm that this loco will work with my Marklin CS3 with all the digital functionality.
Will it couple and decouple automatically with Marklin Close couplers ?

thanks

Tim


Yes is working fine.
Actually all ESU locos and the decoders as well are working fine with the CS3. The only problem is that you can't change the function mapping. Of course you can change everything with CVs

Costas

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ktsolias
Offline Timnomads  
#3 Posted : 19 November 2021 07:31:24(UTC)
Timnomads

Switzerland   
Joined: 16/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 239
Location: Grandvaux - Lausanne - Switzerland
Originally Posted by: ktsolias Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Timnomads Go to Quoted Post
Dear All

I have now seen that ESU have released an Am 842 SBB CARGODrool , its a loco I have wanted for a long time, seeing them working near Lausanne Renens when I pass on the train to work.

This loco ESU 31305

31305_900.jpg

I would like our Experts to please confirm that this loco will work with my Marklin CS3 with all the digital functionality.
Will it couple and decouple automatically with Marklin Close couplers ?

thanks

Tim


Yes is working fine.
Actually all ESU locos and the decoders as well are working fine with the CS3. The only problem is that you can't change the function mapping. Of course you can change everything with CVs

Costas



Hi Costas
Thanks for the reply, I am hoping to use it in my goods yard for shunting, How is the auto uncoupler with marklin close couplings ?
Tim
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Timnomads
Offline mbarreto  
#4 Posted : 19 November 2021 09:16:11(UTC)
mbarreto

Portugal   
Joined: 18/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 980

For change the ESU decoder configuration, unless it is something very simple (like the address for example) the way to go IMHO is to use Lokprogrammer.

Mostly Märklin H0.


thanks 1 user liked this useful post by mbarreto
Offline costing  
#5 Posted : 19 November 2021 15:28:40(UTC)
costing

Switzerland   
Joined: 20/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 131
Location: Geneve, Geneva
I can recommend JMRI to fully change the loco parameters of an ESU decoder (and M* ones, for as long as they talk DCC).

As for the uncoupler, it requires a non-magnetic coupler on the wagon side in order for the wagons to stay away. The M* ones are ferromagnetic and as such are attracted by the magnet in the uncoupler, so light wagons might stay attached to the loco. ESU packs a few non-magnetic NEM couplers with their locos to get started with (part number is 41000).
JMRI on RPi & DCC++ / C-track / Marklin, Roco, ESU, Bemo locos / Christmas car collector
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by costing
Offline Timnomads  
#6 Posted : 20 November 2021 07:49:23(UTC)
Timnomads

Switzerland   
Joined: 16/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 239
Location: Grandvaux - Lausanne - Switzerland
Hi
if i bought 2 Telex couplers from marklin (f37841+). could i fit them to the loco and would they work?
Tim
Offline Goofy  
#7 Posted : 20 November 2021 11:19:33(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,458
Originally Posted by: Timnomads Go to Quoted Post
Hi
if i bought 2 Telex couplers from marklin (f37841+). could i fit them to the loco and would they work?
Tim


No i don´t think so.
It depends of the Telex couplers draw current and the decoder output.
Or else you have to swap function mapping and fix the problem by change PCB in the locomotive which i highly not recommended.
You loss the warranty if you change anything in the locomotive and destroy it!

Offline marklinist5999  
#8 Posted : 20 November 2021 15:03:46(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Michigan, Troy
Must you log in to the ESU site to see current models, because none were viewable whn I loooked yesterday. Only previuos ones.
Offline Timnomads  
#9 Posted : 23 November 2021 15:44:11(UTC)
Timnomads

Switzerland   
Joined: 16/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 239
Location: Grandvaux - Lausanne - Switzerland
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
Must you log in to the ESU site to see current models, because none were viewable whn I loooked yesterday. Only previuos ones.


I ordered from Swissbahn.ch over the weekend seeing that it was on their website, I then paid as requested. 20 mins later I received an email saying that it would not be available until 6/22 and no payment required, then i received an email saying thanks for the payment. Mad

I think they should have said it would not be available until 6/22 on the page where you select the product. I am thinking about asking for a refund and paying when its in stock.

Before I ordered, I looked on the internet and found two Youtubes of reviews of the ESU eg



How can they make these if the loco is not available ?

comments please

Tim
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Timnomads
Offline marklinist5999  
#10 Posted : 23 November 2021 16:27:49(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Michigan, Troy
I think the thank's for payment reply is the same as thank you for your order. It's an auto e-mail default, not entered by a person. So is the do not pay reply.
Your item is reserved for you though.
It looks like the cooling fan is operable, but the video doesn't show it. The fan on the ESU br 212 is.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.516 seconds.