Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline QQQ1970  
#1 Posted : 05 October 2021 18:02:50(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 324
Location: Ontario, Toronto
The buttons are stuck. Can I replace with a standard control box?
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 05 October 2021 20:33:47(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,068
Location: New Zealand
Yes.

Replacement crane control boxes are available on ebay.
Offline torle  
#3 Posted : 05 October 2021 22:11:34(UTC)
torle

United States   
Joined: 05/06/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
The buttons are stuck. Can I replace with a standard control box?


If you're referring to a blue control box then just take the top off, remove the buttons and carefully use 9/32 or 19/64 drill bit to enlarge the holes a bit.
The old blue control boxes seem to deform a bit over time causing the buttons to stick.
I still use about 28 of them on my original analog layout and modified all of them as described above.
I also rubbed a bit of clock oil with Teflon on the buttons before reinstalling them.
-=tom=-

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by torle
Offline QQQ1970  
#4 Posted : 05 October 2021 22:40:25(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 324
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Thanks. Just in case does anyone know the part number for the control box?

Edit: Found it. 7170.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.322 seconds.