Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Mr. Ron  
#1 Posted : 24 May 2021 06:31:31(UTC)
Mr. Ron

United States   
Joined: 05/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Mississippi, Vancleave
What kind of camera is used on HO locomotives to transmit a down-the-track video?
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Mr. Ron
Offline hxmiesa  
#2 Posted : 24 May 2021 06:52:11(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,296
Location: Spain
Originally Posted by: Mr. Ron Go to Quoted Post
What kind of camera is used on HO locomotives to transmit a down-the-track video?

I use the dirt-cheap SQ11 camera.
It is alright in most aspects, EXCEPT I would look for one with a wider angle of vision. Like around 100º or bigger. (Although a bigger angle would begin to give a "fish-eye" vision)

Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by hxmiesa
Offline Ian M  
#3 Posted : 24 May 2021 19:25:00(UTC)
Ian M

United Kingdom   
Joined: 27/01/2018(UTC)
Posts: 227
Location: England, Shrewsbury
I use an SQ23 - it has the advantage that it has built-in WiFi so you can view how the camera is aligned on its wagon before you start filming and get an idea of what it sees as it goes around.

It does give a fisheye effect but many video editing packages (such as Videopad) include a fisheye removal tool.



thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Ian M
Offline marklinist5999  
#4 Posted : 25 May 2021 02:42:14(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,025
Location: Michigan, Troy
For $12 U.S., I may as well try the SQ11. I'll put in in my new cab control car.
Offline PeFu  
#5 Posted : 25 May 2021 06:44:18(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 905
Originally Posted by: Ian M Go to Quoted Post
I use an SQ23 - it has the advantage that it has built-in WiFi so you can view how the camera is aligned on its wagon before you start filming and get an idea of what it sees as it goes around.

It does give a fisheye effect but many video editing packages (such as Videopad) include a fisheye removal tool.

Looks very nice! You have also achieved a feeling of ”following the curves” compared to many other cab ride examples. Is this also done by the software?

ThumpUp

Inspired by Swiss railways SBB and BLS | C and K track | CS2 | TrainController Gold V9
Youtube Channel for the Andreasburg-Mattiasberg layout
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PeFu
Offline marklinist5999  
#6 Posted : 25 May 2021 12:28:32(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,025
Location: Michigan, Troy
I will check out the SQ23 too!
Offline EMD_GP7  
#7 Posted : 02 July 2021 21:23:32(UTC)
EMD_GP7


Joined: 23/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 174
Location: U.K. Midlands
Hi. I have just bought an SQ23 and find it very good - I use it on my bike as a safety camera and the battery seems to last for about 100 minutes which is fine for my riding time.
I will also use it to film my Layout when my son finishes leaving car bits around it !
I have a question, The camera breaks up the videos into 5 minute sections. Is there a way of extending the individual video time ?
I have downloaded the SPORT DV app which works as a viewer and controls the camera but the "Gear wheel" symbol to alter settings disappears when the wi-fi is connected and I cannot see how to change settings, Any Ideas,
Regards, Colin.
Offline Dimi194  
#8 Posted : 03 July 2021 04:10:42(UTC)
Dimi194

Australia   
Joined: 21/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 366
Location: South Coast, NSW
I just bought a SQ23 after seeing this thread, I'm super excited to give it a whirl on HO and N scale stuff! And so cheap!
Author of the gritty sci-fi novel 'Stories of Earth: WWIII' (featuring an awesome train chase)
Avid YouTuber (XtremeTrainz and TrainzXtreme) and train person!
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Dimi194
Offline marklinist5999  
#9 Posted : 03 July 2021 09:38:31(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,025
Location: Michigan, Troy
The dimensions of the sq23 cam seem to large to fit in the cab of most models. Unless I misread them.
Offline hxmiesa  
#10 Posted : 03 July 2021 14:20:22(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,296
Location: Spain
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
The dimensions of the sq23 cam seem to large to fit in the cab of most models. Unless I misread them.

It´s a cube of 1" x 1" x 1" or 25,4mm x 25,4mm x 25,4 mm.

Edited by user 03 July 2021 20:36:39(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by hxmiesa
Offline river6109  
#11 Posted : 03 July 2021 14:38:13(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,781
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
I use a Rollei Pro bullet HD and I was able to buy an afterbuy remote control, I've asked a Swiss guy which camera he was using and this how I got the name Rollei, I've asked him whether he has got a remote control and he said you can't get one.,

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by river6109
Online Ranjit  
#12 Posted : 03 July 2021 16:15:48(UTC)
Ranjit


Joined: 18/06/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,945
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, INDIA
Is this camera still available, John ? Rollei.de doesn't seem to list this item !!

Cheers,
Ranjit
Modelling in HO Scale - Era III & IV. K+M Track, Analogue + Digital
_____________________________________________________________________________

#Get Vaccinated
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need" - Marcus Tullius Cicero
"Nothing is as powerful as an idea whose time has come" - Victor Marie Hugo
"If you can dream it, you can do it" - Walt Disney
Offline river6109  
#13 Posted : 03 July 2021 16:54:04(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,781
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: Ranjit Go to Quoted Post
Is this camera still available, John ? Rollei.de doesn't seem to list this item !!

Cheers,
Ranjit


Ranjit, I don't think, I had a look as well the other day but I couldn't find it., its a handy little camera, fits nicely on a low freight carriage.

John

https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline PMPeter  
#14 Posted : 03 July 2021 17:27:30(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,127
Location: Port Moody, BC
There are so many different SQ23 cameras online with prices ranging from $12 to $65 that I found after a few minutes. They are all described the same, so what make are you guys using?
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline kiwiAlan  
#15 Posted : 03 July 2021 19:53:56(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,344
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: hxmiesa Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
The dimensions of the sq23 cam seem to large to fit in the cab of most models. Unless I misread them.

It´s a cube of 1" x 1" x 1" or 2,54mm x 2,54mm x 2,54 mm.




Umm, if you had said 2.54cm you would be correct ... if we could find cameras only 0.1 inch cube every loco would have one in the drivers seat Laugh Laugh Laugh

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Offline Dimi194  
#16 Posted : 04 July 2021 04:56:59(UTC)
Dimi194

Australia   
Joined: 21/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 366
Location: South Coast, NSW
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
The dimensions of the sq23 cam seem to large to fit in the cab of most models. Unless I misread them.


My plan it to attached it to a flatcar pushed/pulled by a loco so I get a 'drivers view' rather than actually trying to fit it inside the locos themselves.

Author of the gritty sci-fi novel 'Stories of Earth: WWIII' (featuring an awesome train chase)
Avid YouTuber (XtremeTrainz and TrainzXtreme) and train person!
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Dimi194
Offline dickinsonj  
#17 Posted : 05 July 2021 02:05:34(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,457
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: Dimi194 Go to Quoted Post
My plan it to attached it to a flatcar pushed/pulled by a loco so I get a 'drivers view' rather than actually trying to fit it inside the locos themselves.


Yep - I agree. That is the only reasonable solution with today's tech and the results can be quite realistic.

When you get there please post some video for us all to enjoy. ThumpUp

Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Offline Legless  
#18 Posted : 05 July 2021 12:25:47(UTC)
Legless

Australia   
Joined: 20/07/2007(UTC)
Posts: 805
Location: Leopold, Victoria
I’ve got the DJI pocket2.
Only did a quick test on a oval on the kitchen table and it works great.
Had it on a flatbed car in front of the loco.
You can have a high or low view being videoed.
Mike
Legless
Era's 1 to 111,C track,k track
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Legless
Offline Ian M  
#19 Posted : 06 July 2021 12:42:08(UTC)
Ian M

United Kingdom   
Joined: 27/01/2018(UTC)
Posts: 227
Location: England, Shrewsbury
Originally Posted by: PeFu Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Ian M Go to Quoted Post
I use an SQ23 - it has the advantage that it has built-in WiFi so you can view how the camera is aligned on its wagon before you start filming and get an idea of what it sees as it goes around.

It does give a fisheye effect but many video editing packages (such as Videopad) include a fisheye removal tool.

Looks very nice! You have also achieved a feeling of ”following the curves” compared to many other cab ride examples. Is this also done by the software?

ThumpUp



Sorry, I've only just seen this - I had managed to unclick (is that a word?) the notification box.

The camera was sitting on a short flat wagon, fixed with blu-tack slightly back from the front of the wagon. The curves are standard Marklin 'M' 5100 and 5200.

Other than clicking on the 'remove fisheye' filter in the video editor there were no changes to the output.


As for SQ23 type and prices - I suspect that they are all the same as they are unbranded.

javascript:__doPostBack('forum$ctl03$PostReply','')
SQ23 software - it is terrible. You often have to restart it and/or the camera to establish contact or get it to respond but when it works it works and for the price I'm willing to put up with it for occasional use. If you are planning on doing frequent or long videos I'd suggest that you need a more expensive and better featured camera.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
On board camera? (H0-scale)
by kbvrod 01/08/2011 14:55:22(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.708 seconds.