Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline IBtrain  
#1 Posted : 06 December 2020 06:29:16(UTC)
IBtrain

Canada   
[img=https://imgur.com/f5bYii8]Sensor track placement[/img]

Hi
This is my first time posting with pictures so I hope I have done it correctly.

I have finally come to a time in my life when I have the space and the time to setup a layout again. BigGrin
We have returned to Canada, purchased a house and are in the process of painting, unpacking and minor renovations. Plus I’ll be getting a train room. The space is still being used for storage but soon I hope to have everything moved out and work on the train room can begin.

I have not had a digital layout yet so over the past years I’ve been doing a lot of research on the subject, however I find that I learn more by doing, and asking questions.
I have been able to etch out a little space between the moving boxes for some test tracks so I made two small ovals using C track. I have an ECoS 50200 command station, I use Rocrail for computer control, and I’ll be using k track when I build my layout.
I am thrilled that I have been able to connect the ECoS to the tracks, load Loks into the ECoS software and then control them. Then I connected the switches (turnouts) and could control them via the ECos. After that I worked on connecting the ECoS to my laptop via a cross-over cable and control everything with the laptop. It took a bit of time but I worked out the addressing of the switches between the ECoS and Rocrail.
Next was connecting the s88 feedback sensors. Than turned out OK and now I have the sensors working both on the ECoS and in Rocrail, but what I have a problem with is the physical length of the sensor track and the placement of the tracks.
I am use 2 sensors per block, in Rocrail an “Enter” and an “In” sensor.