Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Zme  
#1 Posted : 21 August 2020 20:05:41(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Hi. Does anyone know if the little brush chunk attached to the brush arm can be reattached? I have a new set of brushes and as I look at the sealed bag, there are the two brush arms and unfortunately the little brush piece. It seems to have fallen off the arm before I could even use it. Darn! I know it is better it come loose now then to have it fall off during use. I have had this set for a while and don’t even know who I purchased it from. Crying

Maybe it could be reattached with super glue or some kind of epoxy. Appreciate your input.
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#2 Posted : 21 August 2020 20:43:45(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: d_landen@yahoo.com Go to Quoted Post
Hi. Does anyone know if the little brush chunk attached to the brush arm can be reattached? I have a new set of brushes and as I look at the sealed bag, there are the two brush arms and unfortunately the little brush piece. It seems to have fallen off the arm before I could even use it. Darn! I know it is better it come loose now then to have it fall off during use. I have had this set for a while and don’t even know who I purchased it from. Crying

Maybe it could be reattached with super glue or some kind of epoxy. Appreciate your input.


I'd avoid any kind of glue unless it's a specialist conductive type - by which point you're spending more money on the glue than you would a new pair of brushes!

The carbon pellet is just held in by friction, so I'm sure you can carefully "clinch" the copper of the brush onto the pellet to hold it in place. Once in place in the motor the tension of the brush would hold it in place, but getting in there could be another matter.

I've noticed that some brushes have the pellet soldered in place, so that is another option, though I have had mixed success with regular 60/40 solder myself.

Any help?


Chris

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Poor Skeleton
Zme
Offline zscalehobo  
#3 Posted : 22 August 2020 02:14:12(UTC)
zscalehobo

United States   
Joined: 22/01/2014(UTC)
Posts: 156
Location: CALIFORNIA, Irvine
Contact Märklin. I've seen several batches that were bad with inadequate solder. The latest ones I received have TONS of solder holding the coal in place.
Frank Daniels
Owner - z.scale.hobo
A Noch "Top Dealer"
Marklin Dealer and Z Locomotive Service
Irvine, California, USA
www.zscalehobo.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by zscalehobo
Zme
Offline husafreak  
#4 Posted : 22 August 2020 04:00:22(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: California, Bay Area
I concur. Luckily zscalehobo is my closest or local dealer so support is great! I have seen everything from no solder in older press fit into the spring brushes to big globs of solder in new brushes. I have also received brushes where the "coal" had come off while still in the sealed bag as you have found. Lucky for me Frank replaced the broken set. But if your dealer cannot then I suppose you could fix the coal in place and put solder on but I do not think the solder really sticks to the coal, or brush. I think it just helps to hold the brush in place and restrict its movement while running.
Offline Zme  
#5 Posted : 22 August 2020 05:47:46(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Thanks everyone.

I will have to see what I can do. No dealers here to help out.

Take good care
Offline husafreak  
#6 Posted : 22 August 2020 06:21:45(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: California, Bay Area
Well, you need another set of brushes... If that's not an excuse to buy another loco I don't know what is ;)
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by husafreak
Zme
Offline Zme  
#7 Posted : 22 August 2020 06:55:15(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
You got that right partner.
Offline kiwiAlan  
#8 Posted : 22 August 2020 12:30:41(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,275
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: husafreak Go to Quoted Post
I concur. Luckily zscalehobo is my closest or local dealer so support is great! I have seen everything from no solder in older press fit into the spring brushes to big globs of solder in new brushes. I have also received brushes where the "coal" had come off while still in the sealed bag as you have found. Lucky for me Frank replaced the broken set. But if your dealer cannot then I suppose you could fix the coal in place and put solder on but I do not think the solder really sticks to the coal, or brush. I think it just helps to hold the brush in place and restrict its movement while running.


I believe that the carbon brush needs to be copper plated to get the solder to stick to it, so someone has probably tried to reduce costs by deleting the plating and soldering procedure, and hoping that having a pin on the back of the brush be a tight fit in a hole in the spring would be enough. I suspect that if inspected closely one would find that the pin on the back of the brush has broken off.
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#9 Posted : 22 August 2020 14:03:25(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: husafreak Go to Quoted Post
I concur. Luckily zscalehobo is my closest or local dealer so support is great! I have seen everything from no solder in older press fit into the spring brushes to big globs of solder in new brushes. I have also received brushes where the "coal" had come off while still in the sealed bag as you have found.


I have had a pack of brushes where one of them was missing the carbon pellet altogether - it wasn't even loose in the bag. Fortunately, I'd bought them direct from Marklin and they sent a new pack straight away!

Cheers


Chris

Edited by user 22 August 2020 21:35:15(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline husafreak  
#10 Posted : 22 August 2020 18:39:19(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: California, Bay Area
KiwiAlan you are correct that is what happened to mine. Reading your post reminded me, I found a picture taken last May. The brushes were the 89871 type, no solder, the brush had a “step down” to a smaller cross section that press fits into an opening in the spring, and that is wear a stress fracture broke the coal. I did solder the large piece back on the spring but it came apart when I ran the motor. The solution is definitely another set of brushes.
So for the OP What type of brush was it? I haven’t checked but I probably have a single 89871.
Offline Zme  
#11 Posted : 22 August 2020 21:33:22(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Hello

No it is not an 89871. It is 89881. These fit my Br216 and the railbus.

Looks like they are the press fit type. Probably accounts for the failure.

No problem. I. will order some replacements but I do have other sets. Maybe I will just tinker with these to see what happens.

Another z lesson learned.

Take good care.
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#12 Posted : 22 August 2020 21:40:46(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: d_landen@yahoo.com Go to Quoted Post
Hello

No it is not an 89871. It is 89881. These fit my Br216 and the railbus.



Are you sure it's 89881 and not 89891? I ask because my faulty set was the latter (for a BR218) and I'd be happy to send you the "odd" set and save you the cost of a new pair. Having said that, I also have a pair of 89881 I bought to revive an "old style" BR216 (doh!) but which are now surplus to requirements having decided to re-motor with a new style 5-pole motor. Very happy to send those, as well.

All the best


Chris
Offline Zme  
#13 Posted : 22 August 2020 23:32:55(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Hi

Thank you for the offer. You would spend more to mail this than it is worth. Postage is expensive from your location.

Chris, do you expect me to believe you don't have a railbus. I thought the nostalgic railbus was a mandatory purchase for all z scalers.

The brushes are 89881 for certain, still in the sealed package, but I have more than one set in my stock.

Perhaps if I have some problems, I will hit you up.

Appreciate it.

Dwight








Offline husafreak  
#14 Posted : 23 August 2020 03:13:12(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: California, Bay Area
Plus one on the railbus, I got the current set from zscalehobo and just love it. It’s a great runner and lights up beautifully, my favorite when the lights are low!
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#15 Posted : 23 August 2020 21:51:15(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: d_landen@yahoo.com Go to Quoted Post
Hi

Thank you for the offer. You would spend more to mail this than it is worth. Postage is expensive from your location.


Postage for a small item is pretty inexpensive from here - how long it would take to arrive is another matter - especially if I'm to believe what the UK media is saying is happening to the USPS


Originally Posted by: d_landen@yahoo.com Go to Quoted Post
Chris, do you expect me to believe you don't have a railbus. I thought the nostalgic railbus was a mandatory purchase for all z scalers.


I really don't have a railbus! I guess it's not the sort of locomotive that appeals to me, though it would suit my layout quite well. Damn! You've tempted me now...

All the best



Chris
Offline Zme  
#16 Posted : 23 August 2020 22:08:30(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Hi. Yes you are correct about USPS, I have been waiting on a package from near Atlanta since the 7th. It usually arrives here First Class in 3 to 5 days. While our mailing may be cheap, you definitely get what you pay for. It will be slow if it wants to.

The railbus is a worthy addition since you don’t have one. Detailed shell, interior lighting and the new motor. What could be better!

Take good care.

Dwight
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#17 Posted : 23 August 2020 23:13:55(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: d_landen@yahoo.com Go to Quoted Post


The railbus is a worthy addition since you don’t have one. Detailed shell, interior lighting and the new motor. What could be better!

Take good care.

Dwight


Grrrr! Just had a look on the Gaugemaster site, and the 88167 set is at a very tempting price and shouting very loudly "BUY ME!"

Please, someone, talk me out of this...

Take care


Chris
Offline Zme  
#18 Posted : 23 August 2020 23:28:14(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Hi

I never turn away from a railbus set. I collect them all, and have never been disappointed.

I have seen them digital with sound! Here is a YouTube or two





I am not trying to talk you into anything you don’t really want to do but I am honestly surprised you don’t already have at least one.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Zme
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#19 Posted : 23 August 2020 23:59:52(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
I hope you’re proud of yourself, Dwight, I’m joining the railbus club! If it all goes horribly wrong I’ll be holding you personally responsible!!!

Cheers!


Chris
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Poor Skeleton
Offline Zme  
#20 Posted : 24 August 2020 01:11:39(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 376
Location: West Texas
Hi

Congratulations. If you do decide on the 88167, this is the most finely detailed and most advanced railbus set Marklin has ever produced.

This is one unit you can have running on a secondary track, just going around while your mainline units are running on the other track.

Did you know the Z railbus commemorating an event in Treffen Speyer back in 1996 was limited to less than 300 units. (Per Lokmeusem.de 88161) I believe the McDonalds railbus was limited to somewhere around 1000 units. This was a single railbus with track and a battery controller. I verified this from the Sondermodelle list I found on the website

https://www.z-freunde-in...201689%20Abb%20Vers3.pdf

I like my railbuses, I’m sure you will too. Fair warning, once you have one, the rest are hard to resist

Best wishes

Dwight
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#21 Posted : 24 August 2020 19:11:53(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 375
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: d_landen@yahoo.com Go to Quoted Post
Hi

Congratulations. If you do decide on the 88167, this is the most finely detailed and most advanced railbus set Marklin has ever produced.


Yes, it's the 88167 I've ordered - looks like a very nice model, I just hope railbusses aren't as addictive as you say. I'm weak willed at the best of times!

My current layout is single track with a few passing loops, so quite suited to this sort of rural service, if not for shuttling back and forth whilst other stuff is happening on the main circuit. I do seem to have started collecting stock for another layout, though, so maybe I need to make sure there's a branch line for running my new acquisition!

All the best


Chris
Offline husafreak  
#22 Posted : 24 August 2020 19:20:31(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: California, Bay Area
No matter what I run my railbus seems to get pride of place in front of the passenger station... something so right.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.609 seconds.