Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline John Thackray  
#1 Posted : 17 April 2020 16:28:44(UTC)
John Thackray

United Kingdom   
Marklin 3090.JPG

I have just purchased this Marklin 3090 locomotive on eBay and assumed that someone had over-painted the brown camouflage onto the black body. However on receipt it appears original and the colour seems to be embedded in the plastic. I am convinced that the body colour is original. I have been collecting Marklin on and off for the past 65 years but have never come across this variation. Can anyone provide any information?

thanks 3 users liked this useful post by John Thackray
Offline cookee_nz  
#2 Posted : 18 April 2020 00:24:07(UTC)
cookee_nz

New Zealand   
That's interesting John, I've never seen that myself, but if it's part of the plastic process, what does the body look like on the inside?, if it's a uniform single colour then it would point to a repaint, albeit rather well-done.

I have to admit, I have become rather taken with these lately. I have a couple of plain 3090, but none yet lettered for the mythical railroad "KLVM" "Kleine Loc von Märklin" what's not to love :-)
Cookee
Wellington
NZ image
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by cookee_nz
Offline kiwiAlan  
#3 Posted : 18 April 2020 12:42:50(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Originally Posted by: John Thackray Go to Quoted Post
Marklin 3090.JPG

I have just purchased this Marklin 3090 locomotive on eBay and assumed that someone had over-painted the brown camouflage onto the black body. However on receipt it appears original and the colour seems to be embedded in the plastic. I am convinced that the body colour is original. I have been collecting Marklin on and off for the past 65 years but have never come across this variation. Can anyone provide any information?