Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline QQQ1970  
#1 Posted : 22 March 2020 04:42:16(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 237
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Dumb question, if I convert to Loksound v5, is it possible to upload ESU sound file without buying ESU Lokprogrammer?
Offline applor  
#2 Posted : 22 March 2020 05:50:51(UTC)
applor

Australia   
Joined: 21/05/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,452
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Dumb question, if I convert to Loksound v5, is it possible to upload ESU sound file without buying ESU Lokprogrammer?


No. I think sellers can do that for you though.
modelling 1954 Germany (era IIIa)
Offline kiwiAlan  
#3 Posted : 22 March 2020 08:45:18(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,959
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: applor Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Dumb question, if I convert to Loksound v5, is it possible to upload ESU sound file without buying ESU Lokprogrammer?


No. I think sellers can do that for you though.


Exactly. Tell or shop what sound file you want on it and they should load it for you. You can then tweak things through the CV registers if needed.
Offline river6109  
#4 Posted : 22 March 2020 10:40:00(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,965
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Not quite accurate, you can buy ESU sound decoders off the shelf with a particular sound file, what you will not be able to do change any CV's if you don't have any central, command stations or mobile units but again this can be done by a dealer to change the CV's to your liking's, unless you've already purchased a loksound V 5.0 decoder with or with out a sound file

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline QQQ1970  
#5 Posted : 22 March 2020 14:07:28(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 237
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Can I download the ESU Lokprogrammer software to my PC, hook my CS3 to the PC and put the train on programming track, and then download the sound file to the decoder and change CVs from the PC with CS3 as the interface, instead of buying the ESU Lokprogrammer hardware?
Offline river6109  
#6 Posted : 22 March 2020 15:15:38(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,965
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Can I download the ESU Lokprogrammer software to my PC, hook my CS3 to the PC and put the train on programming track, and then download the sound file to the decoder and change CVs from the PC with CS3 as the interface, instead of buying the ESU Lokprogrammer hardware?


I don't think so, ESU and other manufacturers would like to keep their components working they way they should otherwise lots of people would have done it already with your brilliant idea., you can't get around the lokprogrammer and without it you wouldn't be able to change or download files.

John

https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline kiwiAlan  
#7 Posted : 23 March 2020 00:15:13(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,959
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Can I download the ESU Lokprogrammer software to my PC, hook my CS3 to the PC and put the train on programming track, and then download the sound file to the decoder and change CVs from the PC with CS3 as the interface, instead of buying the ESU Lokprogrammer hardware?


No, this will not work.

Unfortunately the only way to load sound files into a Loksound decoder is with Lokprogrammer hardware.

It can still be worth having a copy of the Lokprogrammer software on your PC to look at the sound file mapping if you want to change things around, but that is another story.
Offline applor  
#8 Posted : 25 March 2020 06:21:48(UTC)
applor

Australia   
Joined: 21/05/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,452
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
Not quite accurate, you can buy ESU sound decoders off the shelf with a particular sound file, what you will not be able to do change any CV's if you don't have any central, command stations or mobile units but again this can be done by a dealer to change the CV's to your liking's, unless you've already purchased a loksound V 5.0 decoder with or with out a sound file

John


I don't think they still do this with the LS5 - they only have catalogue numbers for the different interface types on the ESU webpage.
modelling 1954 Germany (era IIIa)
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.300 seconds.