Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Brian S  
#1 Posted : 14 March 2020 01:49:22(UTC)
Brian S

Canada   
Hi all, I'm new to this European stuff but getting more into it all the time. I bought 3 Rocos in an auction that look like new but I don't know how old they are. I'm wanting to convert them to DCC if possible and would like to know what type of decoders and command station/throttle setups are available.
I've read a bit about the Z21, just wondering what else is out there and what most people use. There are 2 steamers and a crocodile. The steamers are pretty much identical. There is limited info that came with them but I can tell you the steamers are #43216 and 43217. The crocodile is #04149B. The steamers are smoke "ready" as the brochure that came with them states to use the #10 Seuthe smoke generator. Any help, direction would be greatly appreciated.
Offline PMPeter  
#2 Posted : 14 March 2020 03:13:34(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Hi Brian. Welcome from a fellow Canadian.

Based on the catalog numbers you have supplied, you seem to have purchased 2 rail DC locomotives. Is your intention to convert these for operating on a Maerklin 3 rail track or just to convert them for 2 rail DCC?

Since you are on the Maerklin forum, which is mostly for 3 rail systems, you would require more than just a decoder to have it operate. So before people respond please tell us what your goal is.

Cheers
Peter
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline thing fish  
#3 Posted : 14 March 2020 05:38:22(UTC)
thing fish

Turkey   
Originally Posted by: PMPeter Go to Quoted Post
... you would require more than just a decoder to have it operate.

"... you would require more than just a decoder to have it operate on 3 rail (Marklin) system" the above quote should be.

Sorry Peter, added this just to clarify.

Cem.