Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline rmsailor  
#1 Posted : 30 December 2019 11:28:58(UTC)
rmsailor

Scotland   
Joined: 20/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 499
Location: Kirkcaldy, Fife

Details of the Piko 2020 new release programme can now be found on their web-site.

bob M.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by rmsailor
Offline ciobitud  
#2 Posted : 30 December 2019 11:34:01(UTC)
ciobitud

Belgium   
Joined: 26/05/2013(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: Brussels
Piko are the first to announce their 2020 new items list (available for download from www.trainsdepot.org/manufacturer_catalogs/ or from piko.de website).

There are also the 2020 catalogs available for download (unfortunately mostly only in German language).

All the others will follow very soon (can't wait, most exciting time of the year! Drool !
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ciobitud
Offline Goofy  
#3 Posted : 30 December 2019 11:39:41(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,273
Interested!
I see sound decoder with mfx protocol support.
But it seems only for three rail...
Offline AntoinePrt  
#4 Posted : 30 December 2019 15:35:31(UTC)
AntoinePrt

France   
Joined: 06/01/2017(UTC)
Posts: 46
Location: Ile-de-France, Paris
I mainly see the new BR78s!
And especially the fact that they have a smoke generator.

It is certainly time for Märklin to update their BR78s!! The diameter of the chimney is no longer an excuse for not fitting a smoke generator.

A.
Offline Rinus  
#5 Posted : 30 December 2019 15:58:33(UTC)
Rinus


Joined: 20/02/2005(UTC)
Posts: 1,720
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
BR 191 is interesting. Curious how it compares to the Marklin version.

Rinus
Offline RayF  
#6 Posted : 31 December 2019 18:59:27(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,694
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
It's great to see other manufacturers embracing mfx technology. I plan to get at least one new Piko loco next year and look forward to not having to use a loco card for it!

Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by RayF
Offline Goofy  
#7 Posted : 03 January 2020 07:18:50(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,273
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Interested!
I see sound decoder with mfx protocol support.
But it seems only for three rail...


I was wrong...it is same sound decoder for the two rail too with also mfx support.

Offline supermoee  
#8 Posted : 06 January 2020 10:06:56(UTC)
supermoee


Joined: 31/05/2007(UTC)
Posts: 530
Location: ,
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Interested!
I see sound decoder with mfx protocol support.
But it seems only for three rail...


I was wrong...it is same sound decoder for the two rail too with also mfx support.



Hello,

untikl now, the mfx support of Piko Dekoders is limited to the automatic registration of the loco at the central. Nothing else. You cannot program anything in the decoder in the mfx way, even not adjust the volume of the sound. For this you have to pass under DCC and go by CV programming.

I hope they will improve it, because in this way it is useless.

rgds

Stephan

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by supermoee
Offline Goofy  
#9 Posted : 06 January 2020 11:23:21(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,273
Originally Posted by: supermoee Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Interested!
I see sound decoder with mfx protocol support.
But it seems only for three rail...


I was wrong...it is same sound decoder for the two rail too with also mfx support.



Hello,

untikl now, the mfx support of Piko Dekoders is limited to the automatic registration of the loco at the central. Nothing else. You cannot program anything in the decoder in the mfx way, even not adjust the volume of the sound. For this you have to pass under DCC and go by CV programming.

I hope they will improve it, because in this way it is useless.

rgds

Stephan



Nope!
The dataformat are partially same like DCC so you can also program in mfx/MM by set value.
Offline H0  
#10 Posted : 06 January 2020 12:08:21(UTC)
H0


You have been a member since:: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,749
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: supermoee Go to Quoted Post
I hope they will improve it, because in this way it is useless.
I use DCC to program those decoders anyway.
At club meetings the loco registers automatically. So this mfx functionality is useful. And it seems many people do not change any CVs anyway, so the majority will be happy with this limited mfx support.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline Goofy  
#11 Posted : 06 January 2020 12:22:58(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,273
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: supermoee Go to Quoted Post
I hope they will improve it, because in this way it is useless.
I use DCC to program those decoders anyway.
At club meetings the loco registers automatically. So this mfx functionality is useful. And it seems many people do not change any CVs anyway, so the majority will be happy with this limited mfx support.



It is not limited mfx support.
The data sheet in the decoder list are same for DCC and MM.
With mfx register by CS3 it read decoders value.
If CS3 did support RailCom+ you get same information like mfx register.
This is just for the new smartdecoder 4.1.

Offline H0  
#12 Posted : 06 January 2020 14:00:57(UTC)
H0


You have been a member since:: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,749
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
It is not limited mfx support.
Hear, hear!
So it is unlimited mfx support - except for making changes.
ESU decoders have a more unlimited mfx support that also allows making changes.
Thanks once again for your valuable feedback.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline supermoee  
#13 Posted : 07 January 2020 10:35:36(UTC)
supermoee


Joined: 31/05/2007(UTC)
Posts: 530
Location: ,
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post

It is not limited mfx support.
The data sheet in the decoder list are same for DCC and MM.
With mfx register by CS3 it read decoders value.


Hello Goofy,

if you make changes like change the function mapping to your wishes by setting every bit on the CV, the Piko Dekoder will register to a mfx central still showing the old mapping on the function buttons. Useless. At least I have not found any description how to change the symbols in the decoder.

Hello Tom,

maybe it applies to the collectors who keep their models in the showcase, but I change at least the vmax, acceleration/deceleration values and sound volume to my wishes for each new loco I buy. For the Piko locos I have to switch of mfx on my central, install a DCC loco only for the programming purpose and set bit by bit every CV I want to change like in the prehistoric era. So for me it is a useless mfx support. That's why I buy Piko model only in the DC version, mount a Brawa Silencio pick up shoe (the original Piko pick up shoe is crappy too, very squeeky) an put the best decoder for me inside. It saves a lot of money and compromises.

rgds

Stephan
Offline Goofy  
#14 Posted : 08 January 2020 17:17:19(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,273
Originally Posted by: supermoee Go to Quoted Post


Hello Goofy,

if you make changes like change the function mapping to your wishes by setting every bit on the CV, the Piko Dekoder will register to a mfx central still showing the old mapping on the function buttons. Useless. At least I have not found any description how to change the symbols in the decoder.

Stephan


Are we writing about same generation of smart decoder?
If you let Pikos mfx protocol it register by of the CS3.
Then go to configuration and it start read out decoder?
Offline H0  
#15 Posted : 08 January 2020 18:10:51(UTC)
H0


You have been a member since:: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,749
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Are we writing about same generation of smart decoder?
If you let Pikos mfx protocol it register by of the CS3.
Then go to configuration and it start read out decoder?
Have you tried it yourself? Which settings can you change?

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Goofy  
#16 Posted : 09 January 2020 11:28:30(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,273
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Are we writing about same generation of smart decoder?
If you let Pikos mfx protocol it register by of the CS3.
Then go to configuration and it start read out decoder?
Have you tried it yourself? Which settings can you change?



Not sure why you ask when i did asked too.

Offline Minok  
#17 Posted : 09 January 2020 21:35:05(UTC)
Minok

United States   
Joined: 15/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,152
Location: Washington, Pacific Northwest
What interests me is that they finally are offering a 3-conductor measurement car... I feel my nagging them over years, as many others have as well, has contributed to its release.
https://www.piko-shop.de...29415&vw_name=detail

Now to design some decals and get the airbrush ready to give it a proper paint job and get rid of the marketing logos... needs a proper "Messbeiwagen - Bundesbahn Versuchsanstalt" scheme....
UserPostedImage
Toys of tin and wood rule!
---
My Layout Thread on marklin-users.net: InterCity 1-3-4
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/Minok1217/
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Minok
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.041 seconds.