Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Thewolf  
#1 Posted : 28 August 2019 14:36:35(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,616
Location: Longueuil-Canada
Hi guysCool

For the final layout, I would like to reduce as much as possible, if possible, the use of power wires, 72090 strips distribution as far as the power supply of the rails starting from the cs2 is concerned.

Here is my idea:

- A brown wire and a red wire in 0.75 mm2 start from the cs2 and go around the managed part of the layout managed by the cs2.

In several regular places, connections (type of claws) are made to the rails.

- It will be the same for the part managed by the boosters.

- It will be the same for the city lighting (accessories), with the difference that I will start with a large marklin transformer with yellow and brown wires.

I am sure that all this will be cleaner, less condensed into wires and simpler.

But I don't know what it takes to ''scratch'' the section from the rails to the 0.75 mm2 power contour and I don't even know if this kind of gadgets exist.

I also don't know if you understand what I want to do and if it is possible.

On the other hand, this is possible as long as the wires are "naked". We come to weld on the section that goes to the rails.

That's not what I want.

The gadget I'm looking for comes, through the sheath, to scratch the thinner wire and goes to the rail on the 0.75 mm2 wire

I need you help and in advance thank you

Thewolf
Project Laurentides-Neudstadt-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 28 August 2019 15:03:37(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,460
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
I take it you are asking about these devices?

Offline Thewolf  
#3 Posted : 28 August 2019 15:19:01(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,616
Location: Longueuil-Canada
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I take it you are asking about these devices?



Hi Alan Cool

If it works according to my idea, yes

I have a vague idea of how it works but I guess the 0.75 mm2 wire has to be stripped where this gadget hangs, right?

Thank you for yopur help

Thewolf
Project Laurentides-Neudstadt-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline DaleSchultz  
#4 Posted : 28 August 2019 15:24:16(UTC)
DaleSchultz


Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,070
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline Thewolf  
#5 Posted : 28 August 2019 15:32:05(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,616
Location: Longueuil-Canada
Alan Cool

Thanks because you put me on the way.

I've done some google research and what I want to do is called splicing. I have simplified to the max

This is exactly what I want to do:

epissure.jpg

Thank you Alan BigGrin

Thewolf
Project Laurentides-Neudstadt-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline Thewolf  
#6 Posted : 28 August 2019 15:35:20(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,616
Location: Longueuil-Canada
Originally Posted by: DaleSchultz Go to Quoted Post


Thank you DaleCool

Your picture summarizes what I want to do. Everything is perfect for the future. Thank you again

Thewolf
Project Laurentides-Neudstadt-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Thewolf
Offline kiwiAlan  
#7 Posted : 28 August 2019 16:47:13(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,460
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I take it you are asking about these devices?



Hi Alan Cool

If it works according to my idea, yes

I have a vague idea of how it works but I guess the 0.75 mm2 wire has to be stripped where this gadget hangs, right?

Thank you for yopur help

Thewolf


No, one of the wonders of these splices is that you do not need to do any stripping of the wire. You place both wires across the metal piece in the picture in my link, and then close the other half of the plastic piece over the top. The metal 'fins' then slice through the insulation as the wire is pushed down, with the wire core pushing down into the narrow gap of the fins.

It would pay to experiment on some spare wire before committing yourself to 'real' joints. They can require quite a lot of pressure to make them clamp down until the little plastic latch clicks, so you may find some electricians pliars or something similar that allows you to apply a good amount of pressure to the splice to be an advantage. For the first two or three attempts you may like to have your wife assist you to hold things like the bits of wire, while you experiment.
Offline Thewolf  
#8 Posted : 28 August 2019 17:09:07(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,616
Location: Longueuil-Canada
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I take it you are asking about these devices?



Hi Alan Cool

If it works according to my idea, yes

I have a vague idea of how it works but I guess the 0.75 mm2 wire has to be stripped where this gadget hangs, right?

Thank you for yopur help

Thewolf


No, one of the wonders of these splices is that you do not need to do any stripping of the wire. You place both wires across the metal piece in the picture in my link, and then close the other half of the plastic piece over the top. The metal 'fins' then slice through the insulation as the wire is pushed down, with the wire core pushing down into the narrow gap of the fins.

It would pay to experiment on some spare wire before committing yourself to 'real' joints. They can require quite a lot of pressure to make them clamp down until the little plastic latch clicks, so you may find some electricians pliars or something similar that allows you to apply a good amount of pressure to the splice to be an advantage. For the first two or three attempts you may like to have your wife assist you to hold things like the bits of wire, while you experiment.


Alan, excellent advice! I take note of that and it will not be forgotten. Thank you again

Project Laurentides-Neudstadt-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline kiwiAlan  
#9 Posted : 28 August 2019 17:14:11(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,460
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I take it you are asking about these devices?



Hi Alan Cool

If it works according to my idea, yes

I have a vague idea of how it works but I guess the 0.75 mm2 wire has to be stripped where this gadget hangs, right?

Thank you for yopur help

Thewolf


No, one of the wonders of these splices is that you do not need to do any stripping of the wire. You place both wires across the metal piece in the picture in my link, and then close the other half of the plastic piece over the top. The metal 'fins' then slice through the insulation as the wire is pushed down, with the wire core pushing down into the narrow gap of the fins.

It would pay to experiment on some spare wire before committing yourself to 'real' joints. They can require quite a lot of pressure to make them clamp down until the little plastic latch clicks, so you may find some electricians pliars or something similar that allows you to apply a good amount of pressure to the splice to be an advantage. For the first two or three attempts you may like to have your wife assist you to hold things like the bits of wire, while you experiment.


Alan, excellent advice! I take note of that and it will not be forgotten. Thank you again


Don't forget that you can reclaim the splices that you experiment with. That is one of the nice things about these, they can be removed, leaving just a small nick in the insulation, which some tape can cover up if you get things wrong.

Offline Bigdaddynz  
#10 Posted : 28 August 2019 17:21:34(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,690
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I take it you are asking about these devices?



Commonly called 'Scotchloc' connectors.

Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.284 seconds.