Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline W3Machinist  
#1 Posted : 29 January 2019 00:38:23(UTC)
W3Machinist

United States   
To all my Model Railroad Modifying friends, as a retired senior machinist my recommendation for equipment to make modifications with is 1) A bench top MILL 3 axis or for large budgets a vertical KNEE Mill; 2) A simple small bench top lathe (or for large budgets and room a Monarch EE engineering lathe. These are no longer made but a decent use one can still run $5,000 to $10,000 with attachments included).

Build a REALLY STURDY WORK BENCH. Think of a granite block of stone for what you are working towards. Movement when machining is heading for DISASTER.

Think about how much modification you wish to perform and how much you can do. (Lessons at a tech. school for MANUAL MACHINING not CNC machining might be a good value, and save some parts).

Buy the BEST mill you can afford as this is the tool you will use most. To do precision work you will NEED quality measuring tools. A caliper (I prefer the digital ones) and/or a 0-1" micrometer. You usually can pick up these items at a Pawn shop, stay away from the chinese brands. Another very useful tool is a small dial indicator the "Test Indicators" are best for locating or indicating in parts.

I hope this is of some use to those looking to modify or build parts.
I'm happy to answer questions.

WoodyBigGrin Mellow
thanks 8 users liked this useful post by W3Machinist
Offline michelvr  
#2 Posted : 29 January 2019 01:39:46(UTC)
michelvr

Canada   
Welcome to the forum Woody!

Good advise for the uninitiated, greetings from another metal swarf maker!
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by michelvr
Offline lewistrain  
#3 Posted : 29 January 2019 03:35:03(UTC)
lewistrain

Australia