Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Online river6109  
#1 Posted : 08 January 2019 13:02:36(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Hi, I have been collecting locos now for almost 40 years and in this time I have seen drastic changes and 99% for the better but lately I've got the impression locos are made for the collector and not for the everyday user on his or her layout.
there are several reasons I believe this has happened:
1.) reduction in Rubber tyres
2.) motor size has been reduced
3.) weight has been reduced
4.) light functions (led's) have been fixed to minimum changes (white/red) unless you buy a model with sound, premium or expert level.
but the details under a loco has now been reproduced to exact a prototype loco, in all these years running my locos and looking st them from time to time I hardly look at the details underneath a loco and I ask myself who is this for ? I don't have high enough bridges so I can see what's underneath the loco when it runs on my layout and I don't use a mechanic's mirror to see what's underneath but I can imagine a collector who hasn't got a layout and buys a loco he wants to have it all like the prototype, which is ok I don't have problems with this but when it comes when manufacturers stating to skim on materials and other parts my curiosity starts working.

We've had the announcement by ESU a new V 60 and apparently a lot of complaints from the previous model as it has hardly any traction force, although ESU is assuring customers this new model hasn't got the same problems it still remains the question: why only 1 rubber tyre ?, it has a power pack to overcome dead spots and it still would have 4 wheels to collect power from the track (either 2 or 3 rail).