Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ocram63_uk  
#1 Posted : 25 November 2018 10:18:25(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Good morning everyone,
one simple question, actually two :-)
Is the article 74491 the latest switch motor?
This should not have the problems with the internal micro-switches, correct ?

Which article number do the motor decoders now have?
Thank you
Marco
Offline RayF  
#2 Posted : 25 November 2018 10:28:48(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
I have 74490 and 74491 on my layout. I've had problems with the end cut-off switches on both types.

There is also a 74492 but I have no experience of those.
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline blid  
#3 Posted : 25 November 2018 11:28:19(UTC)
blid

Sweden   
As far as I know the 74491 is the latest item number. I had a couple of 74492 but I think the were just 74491 with thicker wires for My World.

When I built the first version of my current layout the problem wasn't known, but I had experienced some problems with the previous layout. I assumed it was lack of power since I was feeding everything thru the C-track. Hence the s88 position feedback for all turnouts on the next.
I still have the s88 feedback on the current version and use Train Controller. This summer I used the TC tools to create a log of the behavior of the turnout motors since then. It can be saved and printed. Not a nice reading. The only good thing is that Marklin still seems to replace the faulty 74491. When I rebuilt the layout (2013) to the current version Marklin replace all my 106 motors to 74491. Since then I think that I have replaced about 50. 2 of the motors I received a month ago is now sent back.