Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline FV1974  
#1 Posted : 05 November 2017 22:28:10(UTC)
FV1974

United Kingdom   

When I was a teenager I had a large Marklin train set. I stopped playing with it when I went to university. Now, 25 years later, I discovered a box full of Marklin equipment on my parents' attic. Having two children with interest in trains, I am keen to set it up again and start building a small model landscape. My train set is HO and uses I believe M tracks.

I have a few questions:
1. since my stock hasn't moved for a long time, should I oil the engines and wheels? If so, can you point me to any tips and guidance on where to apply the oil and what type of oil? I am a real novice when it comes to electrics!

2. To what extent can I extent my M tracks with current Marklin products? Can I connect to C tracks for instance? I am keen to buy a start up kit for my 12 year old daughter and she likes the ICE C track kit.

3. Can my stock work on C track?

4. Are there any UK based retailers? When I search on their website I can't locate any?

5. Can my stock be converted to DCC and if so, what is likely the cost as well as any UK locations where this can get done.

Any other useful websites or forum articles you can point me to would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Frederic
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by FV1974
Offline kimballthurlow  
#2 Posted : 06 November 2017 02:11:02(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Originally Posted by: FV1974 Go to Quoted Post

..My train set is HO and uses I believe M tracks.
I have a few questions:
...Thanks

Frederic

Hi Fredric,
Firstly you would be well served if you can get a full current issue (or even a couple of years old) Marklin catalogue, which runs to arounf 450 paages.