Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Tony O  
#1 Posted : 02 October 2017 18:38:06(UTC)
Tony O

United States   
I am a long time Lionel Post-war O gauge fan. After several trips to Germany, I wanted to add some Marklin trains, specifically some DB trains to my collection. I recently bought some Marklin M-track and a transformer on ebay, here is a link to the auction I won:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/...orig_cvip=true&rt=nc

Apparently it is old (3600?) track, because it has a center rail.
I'm a newbie, so forgive me if this has been asked many times.

My question: is all M-track compatible? If I get some newer M-Track with studs instead of a center rail, will they connect and work with this track?

Thanks in advance for your answer.

Tony Oberkirch
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Tony O
Offline 1borna  
#2 Posted : 02 October 2017 20:07:19(UTC)
1borna

Croatia   

These rails can be combined with the new M and have the same geometry. Lokomotive drives and they also have a safer ski contact, only
I think they'll spend a little faster and be noisy.
Offline kweekalot  
#3 Posted : 02 October 2017 22:41:50(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Welcome to the forum, Tony ! ThumpUp

Good purchase and yes, the 3600 track is compatible with other M-track.

Be very careful with that transformer, a 280A almost killed me, see here:

https://www.marklin-user...30-Volt-shock#post478395

Marco
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kweekalot
Offline Tony O  
#4 Posted : 02 October 2017 22:47:34(UTC)
Tony O

United States   
Thank you very much Iborna and Kweekalot for the information, especially the warning about the transformer. Being electrocuted always ruins my day!
I'm looking forward to having some fun with Marklin trains.
Offline kiwiAlan  
#5 Posted : 02 October 2017 23:41:57(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom