Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Johnvr  
#1 Posted : 09 August 2017 19:30:19(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,238
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Hi all,

Do you want to know what the best little Marklin Track Cleaner is ?

Its your friend the 3000 Loco BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin
Especially if you have an analog loco with nice big bright bulbs in front.

It scurries around the track, and you can see the little sparks where the track is a bit dirty.
It goes at full throttle when using placed on a Digital Circuit, so it stops for nobody.
The AC current cleans the tracks for your digital locos, and the bright lights soon stay bright all the way around the track.

I have been away for a while, I returned home and ran the little 3000 loco a few times around the track.
Mine is a CM 800 loco with the double headlight in front.
Now my track is clean for the digital loks to come out and play.

Track Cleaner.JPG

And here is a quick video to watch it at work :

Track Cleaner Video

Regards,BigGrin
John
thanks 15 users liked this useful post by Johnvr
Offline Thewolf  
#2 Posted : 09 August 2017 20:09:10(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
John,

How does this loco clean the tracks ?

Thewolf
Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline michelvr  
#3 Posted : 09 August 2017 23:47:44(UTC)
michelvr


Joined: 06/07/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,232
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
John,

How does this loco clean the tracks ?

Thewolf


Bonjour Thewolf,

Simple answer is friction with the help of an electrical arc.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by michelvr
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#4 Posted : 10 August 2017 03:25:58(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,120
Location: New Zealand
Might have to try that! ThumpUp
Offline baggio  
#5 Posted : 10 August 2017 06:14:42(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
Joined: 21/09/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,717
Location: Toronto
500,000 volts would certainly clean the tracks and the house, too. LOL

I will try that. I do have a 3000 hanging around.

Thanks, Michel.
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by baggio
Offline TrainIride  
#6 Posted : 10 August 2017 18:22:00(UTC)
TrainIride

France   
Joined: 23/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,723
Location: FRANCE
Originally Posted by: Johnvr Go to Quoted Post
Hi all,

Do you want to know what the best little Marklin Track Cleaner is ?

Its your friend the 3000 Loco BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin
Especially if you have an analog loco with nice big bright bulbs in front.
...
Regards,BigGrin
John


Hi John,

I just found one of these 3000 with big eyes ...
I will try your cleaning solution .

Thank you for this tip !


Best Regards
Joël

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by TrainIride
Offline PMPeter  
#7 Posted : 11 August 2017 00:07:41(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,134
Location: Port Moody, BC
Thanks.

Works nicely. First trip around was a little jerky. 2nd and 3rd trip around much smoother.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline baggio  
#8 Posted : 11 August 2017 01:34:41(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
Joined: 21/09/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,717
Location: Toronto
BUT, how does one know that the tracks are now clean?

I spent over 30 minutes a few days ago with a Roco wagon cleaner and it did not seem to make a difference. (The Marklin cleaner kept on derailing. Cursing )

When I checked, the tracks were still dirty. Mad

I ran the 3000 and another small analogue loco for a total of over one hour, but I did not check yet the tracks to see if they are any better. I will report when I do.
Offline dickinsonj  
#9 Posted : 11 August 2017 01:45:25(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,471
Location: United States
Unfortunately I have not yet found a good automated solution to track cleaning.

So I still drag myself around my layout cleaning it by hand. I hate doing it, but I have never found a good substitute and keeping your track clean is one of the very best things that you can do to make all of your locos run much better.
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Offline Johnvr  
#10 Posted : 11 August 2017 09:20:51(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,238
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Originally Posted by: PMPeter Go to Quoted Post
Thanks.

Works nicely. First trip around was a little jerky. 2nd and 3rd trip around much smoother.


Hi Peter,

Yes you are on the right track for cleaner tracks !BigGrin BigGrin

At first, it stutters around the track because the electrical connections are not good.
You may have to push it forwards over the dirty spots a few times, it may be a little bit jerky as you say.
But quite quickly after a few laps around you will notice little sparks on the wheels and slider where it finds some dirt and cleans it up.
Very soon the loco will be running smoothly and the big bright lights will remain bright all the way around the track.

When this is all done, run a digital loco and see how smooth the running is.

Regards,BigGrin
John
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Johnvr
Offline Thewolf  
#11 Posted : 11 August 2017 12:05:41(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
If I understand well, I do not have more than to try to find this famous Marklin 3000[cool

Thewolf
Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline baggio  
#12 Posted : 11 August 2017 13:30:37(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
Joined: 21/09/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,717
Location: Toronto
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
If I understand well, I do not have more than to try to find this famous Marklin 3000[cool

Thewolf



I think ANY analogue loco of yesteryear would do. Am I right, John?
Offline Thewolf  
#13 Posted : 11 August 2017 15:54:35(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
Before making no anything, I always ask for the opinion of Mike ( Westend Trains )

Here is his answer to my demand of his opinion :

'' Where does the dirt from the tracks go? Does it stick to the wheels of the loco? I believe the only thing being cleaned is possibly the center rail.''

What do you think about it ?

Thewolf
Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline Thewolf  
#14 Posted : 11 August 2017 19:55:49(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
About the dirt from the tracks, I answered to my friend Mike :

'' The dirt disappears as if by magic '' Flapper RollEyes Woot

Thewolf
Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline Jabez  
#15 Posted : 11 August 2017 22:27:27(UTC)
Jabez

Belgium   
Joined: 30/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 636
Location: Brussels
The reactive portion of the dirt is probably carbonaceous material. In the reactive zone of the high-temperature spark the carbon is converted to CO2 and eventually flies out of the window. So you are doing your little bit for global warmingBigGrin
I heard that lonesome whistle blow. Hank Williams
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Jabez
Offline Thewolf  
#16 Posted : 11 August 2017 22:46:03(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
Originally Posted by: Jabez Go to Quoted Post
The reactive portion of the dirt is probably carbonaceous material. In the reactive zone of the high-temperature spark the carbon is converted to CO2 and eventually flies out of the window. So you are doing your little bit for global warmingBigGrin


Oups Crying Crying It is completely against my principles. I am an ecologist. Thus I cannot use this process.

Conclusion : Rub, rub,..... wipe with Q-tips and rubbing alcohol BigGrin Crying Flapper Flapper Scared Wink Wink

Thewolf



Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Thewolf
Offline baggio  
#17 Posted : 12 August 2017 20:49:54(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
Joined: 21/09/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,717
Location: Toronto
Well, I used the 3000 for 1/2 hour; another small analogue loco (whose number I am unaware - I will have to post a picture and ask for help) for another 1/2 hour.

This was done after another 1/2 hour via the Roco track cleaner (the Marklin one kept on derailing - odd).

Result:

The train ran VERY smoothly with the steamer from starter set 29322; the entertainment car had one hiccup after about one hour of travel - a bit disappointing, but I can live with that.

Still, I have no real certainty that the new system works, but - if nothing else - it gave me an excuse to give these two locos a good spin. If only they were a little faster.... BigGrin

While it may be psychological, the train did seem to run more smoothly that I remembered it. That in itself would be a very good result.

Thank you, John. BigGrin
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by baggio
Offline Thewolf  
#18 Posted : 12 August 2017 21:04:14(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
Originally Posted by: baggio Go to Quoted Post
Well, I used the 3000 for 1/2 hour; another small analogue loco (whose number I am unaware - I will have to post a picture and ask for help) for another 1/2 hour.

This was done after another 1/2 hour via the Roco track cleaner (the Marklin one kept on derailing - odd).

Result:

The train ran VERY smoothly with the steamer from starter set 29322; the entertainment car had one hiccup after about one hour of travel - a bit disappointing, but I can live with that.

Still, I have no real certainty that the new system works, but - if nothing else - it gave me an excuse to give these two locos a good spin. If only they were a little faster.... BigGrin

While it may be psychological, the train did seem to run more smoothly that I remembered it. That in itself would be a very good result.

Thank you, John. BigGrin


Hi Baggio

Sorry ...but I believe to have read nothing about rails . How are rails ? Smooth? Very smoother? Rough? As dirty as before?

Thank you for the reply

Thewolf
Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Offline Johnvr  
#19 Posted : 13 August 2017 09:34:43(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,238
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Originally Posted by: baggio Go to Quoted Post


While it may be psychological, the train did seem to run more smoothly that I remembered it. That in itself would be a very good result.

Thank you, John. BigGrin


Yes, that's good, and I'm sure it was a pleasure to see the little loco run again.

Regards,BigGrin
John

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Johnvr
Offline HO Collector  
#20 Posted : 13 August 2017 22:45:58(UTC)
HO Collector

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 159
Location: Just north of London
I think that the following is a much better solution
thanks 6 users liked this useful post by HO Collector
Offline baggio  
#21 Posted : 14 August 2017 02:40:39(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
Joined: 21/09/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,717
Location: Toronto
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
Hi Baggio

Sorry ...but I believe to have read nothing about rails .How are rails ? Smooth? Very smoother? Rough? As dirty as before?

Thank you for the reply

Thewolf


Fair question.

Before answering it, I wanted to have a chance to check. I just did: the tracks are not particularly clean - fairly dirty to be frank.

HOWEVER:

1. Trains run very well on these tracks;

2. I doubt you can get properly clean tracks with anything but elbow grease - this is all you are likely to get;

3. In my view, there is no need to get the tracks any cleaner if the trains run well;

4. The entertainment car is particularly susceptible to current variation - I think it would have needed a condenser to make up for this, as is done (I am advised) with flickering lights. I may have it done if Mike can do it at a reasonable cost.

BOTTOM LINE: My tracks as they are now are good enough; if I end up believing otherwise, then I will resort to that very expensive elbow grease....

Offline Thewolf  
#22 Posted : 14 August 2017 14:20:53(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
Originally Posted by: baggio Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
Hi Baggio

Sorry ...but I believe to have read nothing about rails .How are rails ? Smooth? Very smoother? Rough? As dirty as before?

Thank you for the reply

Thewolf


Fair question.

Before answering it, I wanted to have a chance to check. I just did: the tracks are not particularly clean - fairly dirty to be frank.

HOWEVER:

1. Trains run very well on these tracks;

2. I doubt you can get properly clean tracks with anything but elbow grease - this is all you are likely to get;

3. In my view, there is no need to get the tracks any cleaner if the trains run well;

4. The entertainment car is particularly susceptible to current variation - I think it would have needed a condenser to make up for this, as is done (I am advised) with flickering lights. I may have it done if Mike can do it at a reasonable cost.

BOTTOM LINE: My tracks as they are now are good enough; if I end up believing otherwise, then I will resort to that very expensive elbow grease....



Thanks for the reply

If your trains run well on dirty rails, good for you. On my layout it is not the case. I am cleaning rails by rails: brush Noch, rubbing alcohol with Q tips before the moving, one by one. ( More than 130 meters of rails, It is not small and it is not big, a good average )

But I am curious: I always want to see by myself. Thus I commanded one 3000 on EBay

Thewolf

Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Thewolf
Offline Thewolf  
#23 Posted : 27 August 2017 13:30:19(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
Hello everyoneCool

I checked this Marklin 3000 on a little layout : an oval

The results (for me) :

It is a good method not to use anymore the brush 60140

However I am always going to use Q-tips with the rubbing alcohol after the marklin 3000

The fact that Noch 60140 may go to the garbages makes me happy

Maybe a heavier loco?

Thewolf

Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Thewolf
Offline baggio  
#24 Posted : 27 August 2017 14:50:15(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
Joined: 21/09/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,717
Location: Toronto
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
The fact that Noch 60140 may go to the garbages makes me happy


I would hang on to it - may come handy sooner or later.
Offline Thewolf  
#25 Posted : 27 August 2017 16:38:58(UTC)
Thewolf

Canada   
Joined: 08/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,941
Location: Saint Mathias dur Richelieu-Canada
Originally Posted by: baggio Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Thewolf Go to Quoted Post
The fact that Noch 60140 may go to the garbages makes me happy


I would hang on to it - may come handy sooner or later.


But my definitive conclusion will come when my layout will be reinstalled and when the marklin 3000 will run.... I shall see the state of rails at this moment
Project The Richelieu Valley Railway-CS2-Track C- Itrain-Digital
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.696 seconds.