Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ShannonN  
#1 Posted : 04 September 2016 12:17:35(UTC)
ShannonN

Australia   
Hi All
Just finished building my 4 x 8 table and am raring to get it happening. However, I will need some cheap rolling stock to help complete the theme layout and industries I have planned. Looking on eBay aust, I'm seeing some Lima, Fleischman stuff also Bachman.

Some sellers have indicated that other brands are being sold as its not compatible with their Marklin layout.

As a total noob to HO and Marklin I'm kinda worried. Can some kind soul tell me why some stuff isn't compatible, like to me its all HO scale , even if its metal wheels, 3 rail track carries no voltage across outer rails - only the central pins are powered? So shouldn't short out anything.
I should point out I'm using 3 rail multiple starter kit C-track system
Cheers for your advice,

Shanny

Offline xxup  
#2 Posted : 04 September 2016 12:51:20(UTC)
xxup

Australia   
Part of the problem is the dimension of the DC wheels themselves.. Even if you can get them to work on your track, there is the problem of using them with contact tracks - if you have them on your layout..

In some cases, the solution is as simple as replacing the wheels with Marklin equivalents.. Where the wheels are part of a bogie, the problem is more difficult, but not impossible to fix.
Adrian
UserPostedImage
Australia flag by abFlags.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by xxup
Offline kimballthurlow  
#3 Posted : 04 September 2016 21:52:05(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Hi Shannon,
Adrian has summed it up nicely.
I have Liliput, Fleischmann, Roco and Jouef on my layout.
Not in all, but in many cases I have had to modify the stock to run properly.