Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ratherbesailing  
#1 Posted : 03 September 2013 19:58:22(UTC)
ratherbesailing

United States   
Hi there - Complete model train newbie here and dad of a 4 year old. Looking for some suggestions for a particular conundrum.

Over the summer my father-in-law gave my son an electric train set (HO scale made by Model Power). We had several problems with it - track would come apart, cars would decouple, and I was pretty uncomfortable having the thing plugged in especially since I have an 18 month old also roaming around.

I threw some money at the problem and:

1. Bought some plywood and encased it in felt to make a train table which slides under a bed
2. Purchased the My World TGV
3. Pickup up some extra C track on eBay

Right now my son is really quite happy with the set up. We've got a figure 8 with a turnout. If we want to make something elaborate, we use the turnout to connect tracks to a bigger layout that we have on the hardwood floor. The My World product is perfect for his age. It's nice because he can independently pull out the train table and use the trains without any adult supervision. He likes to use the remote, but he also like to push the trains along the track with his hand, including the original cars that his grandfather gave him. We use eneloops (low discharge NiMh) rechargeable batteries and we just change them once a week.

So now for the conundrum:

We live in San Francisco, so of course by son is obsessed with PCC streetcars (can't blame the kid for good taste). I would love to get him a streetcar - my absolute ideal would be a PCC streetcar that works exactly like the My World trains, but to the best of my knowledge there are no remote control battery operated HO streetcars out there.