Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Robert Davies  
#1 Posted : 16 December 2010 22:37:56(UTC)
Robert Davies

United Kingdom   
I expect that this subject has been raised many times before but as I am a newbie and this is my first post here I will risk being shouted at. Please also excuse the length - my next posts will be shorter.

First, to introduce myself. I have always been fascinated by railways and trains - I worked for British Railways for 28 years - and this life-long interest was sparked by my model railway. This was Trix Twin which I was first given in about 1956. By the mid 60's this had been played with so much that it had pretty much died but in about 1970 a friend introduced me to Märklin and I began to build what eventually became a pretty big layout. This was set up in the loft of my parent's house but getting married, raising a family, moving repeatedly with work etc meant that it was eventually all boxed up and left unused.

About 10 years ago, I decided to fetch it all out of store and set it up again. I converted all of my locomotives to the early form of digital control and bought a couple of new locos as well but I made the serious mistake of setting it up in my cellar. This was OK initially and while the rolling stock didn't deteriorate, the track (entirely M-track) slowly went very rusty to the extent that most of it is now only fit for scrap (which is a pity because we are talking about in excess of 400 5106 straight rails for example).