Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline mike c  
#1 Posted : 30 August 2010 05:50:15(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
I am expecting my Roco 69151 ICN trainset anyday. The latest information that I received is that the nice customs officials at JFK Airport (NYC) are playing with it for a little while longer.
The trainset comes with a Zimo decoder. All of my other digital loks come with either Maerklin, Digitrax or ESU decoders. I have no experience with Zimo decoders at all.
I presume that the decoder in the ICN will be compatible with Motorola (6021) as it was designed for the Maerklin system.
My initial concern is that I am able to select a new locomotive address using the 6021. I am also curious as to which functions I will be able to select. The 6021 allows for F0-F4. ESU decoders have an added feature where a second (the adjacent) motorola address can be activated, giving access to F5-F8. I wonder whether the Zimo will have a similar feature?
What type of controller is normally required to adjust settings on a Zimo decoder? Does Zimo make a programmer like ESU? What functions can I modify with a 6021 or do I need a CS?

Hopefully one of our digital experts can provide some additional information on these decoders.

Regards

Mike C
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 30 August 2010 06:01:14(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
And a warning before we start to Lutz, don't even think about trying to crap all over this topic, as I know how less than enamored you are with Zimo decoders.

And sorry to Mike for having to put this in your new topic, but I thought it best to give the warning before we start.