Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline moman2  
#1 Posted : 10 November 2023 23:20:03(UTC)
moman2

United States   
Hi all,

I wanted to share a free cross-platform program that I've been developing on and off for about 10 years now. Perhaps not-so-creatively named "TrainControl", the idea is to make operating your Marklin layout as easy (and therefore as fun!) as possible. Over the past year or so I've doubled down on maximizing stability and compatibility with both the CS2 and CS3, and now with the new "v2.0.0" release, it should be quite refined and ready for use by the community!

The key feature of the UI is that there is a keyboard shortcut for everything. I've found switching between locomotives via the Central Station itself to be exceedingly time-consuming, and having two (or three, or four) knobs just doesn't cut it for a large layout. Touchscreen/mouse-based UIs have a similar slowness issue. So, with TrainControl, you can select locomotives, set/increment speed, set functions, decelerate, emergency stop, etc., simply by using the keyboard, without having to look at the screen at all. There are also keyboard commands for applying function presets for a specific locomotive, turning off all functions, applying a speed preset, etc., so that you don't have to spend time doing any of these repetitive tasks manually.

You can learn more and download TrainControl here: https://github.com/bob123456678/TrainControl/.
Your Central Station must be connected to your local network for it to work, and don't forget to turn on the CAN broadcasting setting.

TrainControl program for Marklin Central Station 2 and 3 - UI