Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline MKOpSeattle  
#1 Posted : 03 January 2015 03:37:29(UTC)
MKOpSeattle

United States   
Please endure one more post from a digital newbie. I’d appreciate it very much if anyone can point me to articles or posts to get me started. I’ve been operating Marklin HO for many years and stopped about 1999 for various reasons. I started to pick up the hobby again last year and was totally lost with the digital world. I tried to learn as much as I can but still need lots of help. I also tried to follow the posts but it seems most of them had some digital experience. I have none. I saw the post by Cargodog, but I have more questions.

I have an M-Track L shape two-level layout with eight feet on each side. They are many turnouts, signals, one turntable and one transfer table. I have the following engines:

Steam: 3005 3048 3082 3305
Electric: 3034 3022 3054 34691
Diesel: 3147 3060

Transformer: 3X-6114 1-280

I plan to run three trains simultaneously maximum, two ground-powered and one electric overhead powered. I don’t need all the features like adding fuel, water, coal…etc., just sound and smoke.

1) I read that I can keep the turnouts and signals analog and run the trains digitally, is that true? Do they share the same ground?
2) Do I need to convert all the motors to the high efficiency motors + digital decoders?
3) There are different high efficiency motors and decoders. Where do I find which ones to use?
4) Do I need the CS (60215) to operate if I don’t need most of the features?

I understand that there are many posts on digital system already. But I really need helps from ground up. Thank you.
Offline PMPeter  
#2 Posted : 03 January 2015 05:54:44(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada