Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline michelvr  
#1 Posted : 30 October 2014 15:51:44(UTC)
michelvr

Canada   
Good Morning,

I thought that I would post one of my experiences in how to wire a large Marklin layout. I'm new to wiring a Marklin layout, have wired many DCC layouts so here is a simple wiring mistake that can cost you!

I'm near the end of the line so to speak! I have only a few more pieces of K track to install, then my double track main line is complete. My layout will be using the ESU ECoS and be computer controlled. I have created blocks so that I can detect where the trains are. Each block has feeder wires going to the underside of the layout. I decided to power each mainline separately with a booster for each line, utilizing the crossover tracks as the isolated sections. I have 6 crossover sections.

Now that I am planning to connect the feeder wires to the bus. I was wondering what happens when the slider goes over the pukos when they switch boosters at the crossovers? Will there be a short or will everything be fine? I know I read something about that, didn't I? So I re-read the ESU Booster manual and then the Marklin Electrical Manual 07421 and on page 30 it states to install a "rocker insulator." Or as ESU calls it a "slider lifter"

Quote from the manual, "At no point may the pick up shoe on a locomotive create an electrical connection between two power consumption areas, when the locomotive is passing over the separation point!"

Oops, I forgot about that!

So I ordered the "rocker insulator(s)" and hopefully I'll have them soon to install!

Luckily my curiously got me out of trouble!
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 30 October 2014 20:17:23(UTC)
H0

Good evening,