Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline kevwill  
#1 Posted : 01 November 2011 20:05:40(UTC)
kevwill

I'm still in the learning phase of model trains the Marklin way,and i'd be grateful for help
I have 9 mfx loco's and i would like to know how to upgrade them to the latest sounds. Is there a thread or post on here from the past, or does someone know a youtube video on this subject. Is upgrading something a complete novice like myself would be able to do.
Also i have 4 fx locos and would like to upgrade them to mfx with the latest sounds too.
Some times i feel really uneducated on electrics and digital and i'm reluctant sometimes to post silly questions like this but i really would like some advice.
I'm still in building stage but while i had the budget i wanted to use it for upgrading the loco's

Many thanks

Kevin
My wife, children, and all my friends, think as i'm into Model trains, i'm very boring and should grow up. NEVER NEVER!!!
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 01 November 2011 22:12:32(UTC)
H0

The decoders of early mfx locos are not locked against updates. You can upload new sound projects with an ESU lokprogrammer.

Later decoders (approx. 2006 and later) are locked. You need a new decoder to upload a new sound project. You may need new speakers, too, as there are different speaker impedances in use.

fx locos can be upgraded to sound decoders if they do not have the C Sine motor and if the space allows the speaker(s).

I never installed a sound decoder, therefore I can only provide some general information.
If the current decoder is plugged in, then you may be able to do the upgrade with little or even no soldering.
Regards
Tom
---