Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline schwinnbob  
#1 Posted : 12 September 2010 02:42:25(UTC)
schwinnbob

Hi everyone!

Sorry for the total newbie question, I searched but did not find the info. My father in law wants me to sell his large late 60's collection and I would like to test the loco's. I have no idea how to hook up the transformer. Have both 6153 and 6502 transformers. Want to just set up a 4 feet or so piece to test them. Thanks for any and all help.
Offline Charlie  
#2 Posted : 12 September 2010 04:21:43(UTC)
Charlie

Hi Bob,

Welcome. The transformers may have two brown, and a yellow and a red output (place to plug in a wire).

Hook the center portion of the track up to the red output, and the outside rails (both outside rails are connected electrically) to one of the two browns.

Since it is your father in law, offer him a buck Sneaky for every locomotive that refuses to run (only test them for a few seconds, to not burn up the motor if they do not run). Buy them anyways. A good cleaning of the gears may most likely bring them to live ThumpUp .

Charlie
Offline schwinnbob  
#3 Posted : 12 September 2010 05:49:57(UTC)
schwinnbob

Thanks Charlie!

Now an even dumber newb question. The transformer has a red, yellow and brown terminal so got that but where do the wires attach to the track??? I don't see anyplace for them to attach.

Thanks for putting up with my newness.

Bob
Offline rhobson1968  
#4 Posted : 12 September 2010 06:33:11(UTC)
rhobson1968

I assume you have Metal track. Underneth you can attach the red wire to the center rail and the brown to the outerrail. Send me your email address and I will send you a picture. Also, what do you have forsale? Send me a note to rhobson@charter.net. I might be able to buy it from you without even testing it.
Never quit building.