Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ciderglider  
#1 Posted : 18 July 2012 09:35:28(UTC)
ciderglider

United Kingdom   
This is my first post, so "hello" to all in Z land.

I'm hoping to build a modest Z gauge layout, guided by a treasured 1975 Maerklin catalogue, and one of the first things I need to consider is power. I have a Gaugemaster OO controller, but I believe this is likely to damage Z gauge locos as the voltage is too high. So I need to get a dedicated Z gauge controller. Are the Maerklin units any good? What are the alternatives? I see Gaugemaster make units for Z, but they don't seem to have them in stock on their website. Are the Gaugemaster units better than Maerklin's own. Are there any other controllers I should consider. I anticipate running "analogue", not DCC, as I am hoping to buy 70s locos second hand.

I see some of the older Maerklin rolling stock has plastic wheels. Is it easy to replace these with metal wheelsets? Indeed, are metal wheelsets readily available?

One other question, I have read that Maerklin has been going through financial difficulties recently. What is the current status of the company?

I look forward to your replies.
Offline witzlerh  
#2 Posted : 18 July 2012 16:05:29(UTC)
witzlerh

Canada   
I can't specifically answer you z-scale question (am HO) but I can tell you about Marklin and it's quality.
Marklin still essentially sets the benchmark in many of their primary products like trains and transformers. So when in doubt, go with Marklin.

They did have bankruptcy protection a few years back but in Germany, their process usually gets a company back on their feet, as in this case.