Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline tekin65  
#1 Posted : 21 April 2008 15:28:19(UTC)
tekin65

Turkey   
Joined: 11/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,350
Location: istanbul,
Hi to all,

As i haven't used k-track and don't have a single piece either, i wonder if it is possible to separate the right and left tracks like you can on c-tracks?

Regards,

Cem.
3 rail: C-track with CS2 2 rail: Trix C-track with Trix MS - K.Bay., DRG, DR, DB, SBB, TCDD

Now all eras but no ICE

My loco inventory for the interested
Offline Macfire  
#2 Posted : 21 April 2008 15:34:48(UTC)
Macfire


Joined: 04/11/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,652
Location: New Zealand
Umm - do you mean via a contact track?
K: 2295 Contact Track Set
M: 24995 Contact Track Set.

Regards
Tony
Lord Macca
New Zealand branch of Clan Donald.
Offline hmsfix  
#3 Posted : 21 April 2008 16:11:23(UTC)
hmsfix


Joined: 06/02/2005(UTC)
Posts: 1,383
Location: Darmstadt,
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by tekin65
<br />Hi to all,

As i haven't used k-track and don't have a single piece either, i wonder if it is possible to separate the right and left tracks like you can on c-tracks?

Regards,

Cem.


Hi Cem,

Usually, the two rails are electrically isolated for K-tracks, there is no need to cut anything, as for C-track.

This also refers to the slim turnouts (22715/16). AFAIK the only exception where left and right rains are connected are the standard turnouts (2262/63).

For contacting the rails, I simply solder the wires to the tin connectors clips at the rail ends.

Hans martin
Offline Jim Thompson  
#4 Posted : 21 April 2008 17:24:11(UTC)
Jim Thompson


Joined: 07/08/2007(UTC)
Posts: 320
Location: Cape Coral, FL
This is going to be a really naive question, but that has never stopped me before wink :

Why would you want the outside rails isolated in a three-rail system?

I am confused. It never even occurred to me that they would be isolated...

Thank you, thank you very much Cool,

Jim (Dyed-In-The-Wool M-Tracker)
Offline hxmiesa  
#5 Posted : 21 April 2008 18:22:23(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,746
Location: Spain
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Jim Thompson
Why would you want the outside rails isolated in a three-rail system?

To make track-occupation detection and detection points for S88 modules.
When rolling stock connects the two outer rails, the isolated rail is grounded.

If you have a Märklin electrical level crossing, you can see that it works that way; As long as a wheelset (normal AC) is present on the track, the lights are on, and the gate is down.
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline Jim Thompson  
#6 Posted : 21 April 2008 18:25:55(UTC)
Jim Thompson


Joined: 07/08/2007(UTC)
Posts: 320
Location: Cape Coral, FL
O-o-o-o-oh! Cool

Thanks! Smile "By jove, I think he's got it" wink

Jim Cool
Offline tekin65  
#7 Posted : 21 April 2008 18:30:45(UTC)
tekin65

Turkey   
Joined: 11/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,350
Location: istanbul,
Hi,

Thanks for the answers.

Yes, I need this for occupancy detection.

So I gather that in K-track right and left rails are already isolated except regular turnouts. Is that right?

Then one last question: is it hard to isolate rails on regular turnouts or should I use any special turnout (assuming there is one)?

Regards,

Cem.
3 rail: C-track with CS2 2 rail: Trix C-track with Trix MS - K.Bay., DRG, DR, DB, SBB, TCDD

Now all eras but no ICE

My loco inventory for the interested
Offline TTRExpress  
#8 Posted : 21 April 2008 19:56:57(UTC)
TTRExpress

United States   
Joined: 06/04/2006(UTC)
Posts: 655
Hi Cem,

You could use TRIX Express 3-rail DC turnouts with K-track. You will have to file down the track end pieces as their is a rail profile height difference between the two track systems. K-track has a profile height of 2.54 mm, TRIX Express is 3.3 mm but all three rails are electrically isolated and will work well with your K-track.

You can also make your own using Peco track, see the forum on <u>Dual AC and DC operations on Peco c83 </u> in the HO scale section.
Track profile heights:

Maerklin C-track is 2.3 mm (0.090" or Code 90)
TRIX C-track is 2.1 mm (0.083" or Code 83)

Maerklin M-track is 2.5 mm (~0.010" or Code 100)
Maerklin K-track is 2.54 mm (0.010" or Code 100)

The reason that TRIX C-track is a lower track profile height is to accommodate the 2-rail DC market and the RP-25 wheel sets. The Maerklin C-track height of 2.3 mm is to accommodate the AC wheel sets that have a slightly different axle and flange height.



Regards (a Scot in Wisconsin),

Maurice [ETE, TTRCA, IG-TRIX Express, Maerklin-Insider & TRIX Profi-Club]
Offline hxmiesa  
#9 Posted : 21 April 2008 20:21:14(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,746
Location: Spain
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by tekin65
So I gather that in K-track right and left rails are already isolated except regular turnouts. Is that right?
Then one last question: is it hard to isolate rails on regular turnouts or should I use any special turnout (assuming there is one)?

I remember to have read that slim switches are already isolated and fit for 2-rail running!
-And that normal (R2) switches requiere quite a lot of work to be prepared for 2-rail.
(I am not 100% sure about the above, sorry)
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline nfotis  
#10 Posted : 22 April 2008 01:54:03(UTC)
nfotis


Joined: 13/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 125
Location: ,
Henrik,

you are right, I have already verified that the slim K-track switches are electrically suitable for 2-rail operation. Their codes are 22715 and 22716.
I have no idea about the shorter switches or the double-slip switch.

And the flextrack 2205 and the straight track have insulated the left and right track as well.

Since we are on the topic of K-track, in my reversing loop throat I noticed that some passenger cars from Roco tend to derail when passing through these 'long' switches, and I am a bit mystified by this (more details tomorrow, I hope!)

Cheers,
N.Fotis
Offline tekin65  
#11 Posted : 22 April 2008 11:31:56(UTC)
tekin65

Turkey   
Joined: 11/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,350
Location: istanbul,
Hi guys,

Thank you very much for the info - very helpful!

Regards,

Cem.
3 rail: C-track with CS2 2 rail: Trix C-track with Trix MS - K.Bay., DRG, DR, DB, SBB, TCDD

Now all eras but no ICE

My loco inventory for the interested
Offline hxmiesa  
#12 Posted : 22 April 2008 14:08:52(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,746
Location: Spain
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by nfotis
Since we are on the topic of K-track, in my reversing loop throat I noticed that some passenger cars from Roco tend to derail when passing through these 'long' switches, and I am a bit mystified by this (more details tomorrow, I hope!)

I guess that you have problem with the wheel-spacing. Try meassuring the inside distance between the flanges. Should be 13,9mm (according to the good doctor J.Vuye, now member here also...)
Note; these wheels can be off, even if you took the trouble of changing them to AC-wheels earlier!
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline nfotis  
#13 Posted : 03 May 2008 03:07:33(UTC)
nfotis


Joined: 13/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 125
Location: ,
Hello there,

I noticed this problem on a Roco passenger car in OBB livery, when we made some tests in a set of long K-track switches.

The flange distance must be exactly 13.9mm, or (say) 14mm is OK?

Regards,
N.Fotis
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.817 seconds.