Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Voller  
#1 Posted : 27 July 2007 21:48:53(UTC)
Voller


Joined: 27/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 78
Location: Helsingør, Denmark
I want to solder some powersupply-wires to a few pieces of k-track to improve the trains performance on the track, but I'm not sure where to solder. I'm using the standard Märklin color-code for wires. Red is for the studs in the centre of the track, brown for the rail itself.

I can se four places to solder, as seen on the image below. Where to attach the red wire, and where to put the brown? And should I put two reds and two browns on the track (since there are four places to solder)?

UserPostedImage

As you might hear, I'm used to c-track...
Best regards, Voller.
http://modeltog.voller.dk
Offline rschaffr  
#2 Posted : 27 July 2007 22:10:27(UTC)
rschaffr

United States   
Joined: 03/01/2003(UTC)
Posts: 5,170
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
Voller:

I solder the track studs contact at 5.

[image]http://www.sem-co.com/~rschaffr/trains/users-net/k-track.jpg[/image]

I use .08 black wire so it doesn't stand out.

I solder the ground/earth/mass circuit to both rail joiners to get both tracks connected.
-Ron
Digital, Epoch IV-V(K-track/IB), Epoch III(C-track/6021/6036/6051)
http://www.sem-co.com/~rschaffr/trains/trains.html
Offline DaleSchultz  
#3 Posted : 27 July 2007 23:11:34(UTC)
DaleSchultz


Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,138
Hi Voller,

See the pictures at http://layout.mixmox.com/1/laying-track
Red to the underside and brown to the running rails. To solder the brown to the running rails you should slide on a rail connector, crimp it and then solder to that.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline rschaffr  
#4 Posted : 27 July 2007 23:23:37(UTC)
rschaffr

United States   
Joined: 03/01/2003(UTC)
Posts: 5,170
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
Personally, I think soldering all sections of rail together is overkill, but to each his own. I may want to someday rip up the layout and reuse the track. Plus, I have had a few instances where I had to replace a switch that failed. It was hard enough to clear the track around it to remove it without dealing with solder joints.
-Ron
Digital, Epoch IV-V(K-track/IB), Epoch III(C-track/6021/6036/6051)
http://www.sem-co.com/~rschaffr/trains/trains.html
Offline DaleSchultz  
#5 Posted : 27 July 2007 23:55:07(UTC)
DaleSchultz


Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,138
I only solder a few lengths together that share power feeds. Then there is an unsoldered joint to the next set which are soldered. This would allow me to remove a meter or so of track at a time if I had to. It has not happened yet.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.440 seconds.