Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline 2ndChancer  
#1 Posted : 02 May 2007 14:44:33(UTC)
2ndChancer


Joined: 06/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 587
Location: Hong Kong,
Hi all,
Can anyone suggest a reasonable length of isolation track for us as staging yard purpose ?

Thanks

Eric
Cool
Offline DaleSchultz  
#2 Posted : 02 May 2007 17:57:53(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,717
well, will you be running with computer control or not? It makes a difference in my opinion.
If you will be controlling the train by computer you will need small contact areas at the entrance, near the end and at the end of each track. These need to be short as they are used for 'point' position feedback so the computer knows where the leading axle of the train is. The computer does not need to know track occupancy as that is trivially tracked in the software.

If you do not plan on using software, and you want to have track occupancy, (say an LED indicating that 'something' is there, then you want it to run the length of the track, or at least the end where you _know_ at least one axle of the train will be.

See http://layout.mixmox.com/1/computer_control
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline Ross  
#3 Posted : 03 May 2007 01:43:36(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 775
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Eric, I have my contact 35mm in length for normal position contacts and longer contacks for track occupied contacts. At the end of sidings I have them about 300mm long.
Hope this helps, Ross
Ross
Offline 2ndChancer  
#4 Posted : 03 May 2007 15:10:06(UTC)
2ndChancer


Joined: 06/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 587
Location: Hong Kong,
Thanks Dale and Ross

I am not using computer control for the time being, it's just the 6021,memory and keyboard combo.
I've been mixing up contact track and the stop track. I've been missing the point of computer control, where you don't even need a stop track. Since my layout will only consist of 2 and 3 tracks storage, a classical 7244 and srk config will do the job. (In fact I don't even need the memory)

It's very inspiring having all this discussion, and when time come up for computer control, I am sure there'll be more I will ask.

Thank you so much

Eric
Cool
Offline rschaffr  
#5 Posted : 03 May 2007 16:20:00(UTC)
rschaffr

United States   
Joined: 03/01/2003(UTC)
Posts: 5,170
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
I make my contact tracks at least as long as the wheel spacing on my longest coach. My system monitors not only when the contact has been triggered, but also when the train has cleared the location, hence I need constant contact while the train is over the contact track.
-Ron
Digital, Epoch IV-V(K-track/IB), Epoch III(C-track/6021/6036/6051)
http://www.sem-co.com/~rschaffr/trains/trains.html
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Contact track length in shadow yard (Digital)
by pschloes 17/03/2016 00:11:15(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.342 seconds.