Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Harvey  
#1 Posted : 25 February 2024 16:52:49(UTC)
Harvey

United States   
Hi

Looking for advice on tips for a new soldering iron. I settled on the Hakko FX-888D (our daughter in law has one and she is very happy with it). For my Marklin layout, I mostly solder wires to track (current feed) and and maybe this is overkill. But ....

My questions are what tips to have. This model comes with a T18-D16 chisel tip (1.6 mm tip diameter)
and what temperature your set your tool at.

Thanks
Harvey

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Harvey
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 25 February 2024 17:16:04(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Hi Harvey
I am a French Engineer in electronics and I kept my Weller soldering iron (Germany) from the 1980s and is still working fine with temperature regulation.
Mine comes with spare tips that I purchased as spares 30 years after the purchase also in China. I have also a sucction tip to remove solder before extracting a components.
In this day and age, you must later be prepared to process SMDs (Surface Mounted Devices) as all modern electronics has.

One important thing is to watch for replacement tips.
Weller tips have become and standard. Normally soldering tips have a metal surface treatement that make them last for a huge period of time However:
you must change tips on occasions depending on the work you are doing.

Temperature adjustement and other tips
- always start at low temperature (that starts melting your electronic-grade soldering) From 260 to 320°C
- if solder forms rapidly little balls, this means you temperature is too high.
- remember that overheating a PCB will destroy it (unglue the copper from its glass substrate).