Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Richard Joint  
#1 Posted : 19 December 2023 04:59:24(UTC)
Richard Joint

Honduras   
I have been growing my Ctrack layout for over two years and little by little I am updating by region and working on going full digital at least in part. Originally I placed droppers everywhere and hooked them up to a switchboard also arranged by zone. Sometimes some 30 switches. In my opinion, total overkill and in retrospect, a waste of time crawling around under the table, though I suppose it did help find glitches. Guess where most of the glitches were found? Spade adapters coming loose. I have tried soldering to the spade (does not help if the spade comes loose) I have tried eliminating the spade and soldering to the tag.(Lot of work and subject to shorts, breaking, in either case, have to lift the track !). I thought the solution would be a combination of Spade plus someway to glue the wiring under the track to protect the spade attachment. (This proved a pain and the glue would either make it impossible to get under the track or it did not hold and the wiring came loose). Surely there must be a simple reliable system, like M Track or other manufacturers' ways of connecting to the track. It does not matter how sophisticated and beautiful your wiring can look with the huge variety of easy connectors, baskets, etc if the spade is not reliable. Has enybody found a way around the spade adapter? Love to hear about it.
Offline PeFu  
#2 Posted : 19 December 2023 08:42:01(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
All my cable connections to tracks are soldered. Turnout cables goes under the layout where they are connected to ”bus” cables. Haven’t had a single C track cable connection problem… yet.

Smile