Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline alehrfeld  
#1 Posted : 30 June 2023 22:54:42(UTC)
alehrfeld

United States   
I am a novice Marklin collector so please excuse the question. I have a digital layout that uses two handheld controllers, one is assigned to the locos and the other handles turnouts and uncouplers. I have 4 trains. The layout is about 3 years old. Everything has been running fine, but suddenly the locos will only move less than an inch, then it appears that they lose electrical contact with the track, they stop moving and lights go off. If I move them a fraction of an inch, they will run again for less than an inch. All 4 locos are behaving this way. I have tried cleaning the rails with rubbing alcohol and a cloth and a lot of grease and dirt comes off and there is some small improvement but not much. I tried deleting then trains from the controller and then adding them back to the track one at a time. The problem remains the same. Does anybody know the problem, can someone please help me. Thank you.
Offline heinrichhess  
#2 Posted : 01 July 2023 00:11:02(UTC)
heinrichhess

United Kingdom   
look at the power connectors to track try cleaning the spades if on c track i'm presuming if you got 2 MS2 (controllers) the you have 2 power pack's try swapping for the spare one a trick i use for really old dirty track is pressing toytoise mode turn on full power and run but this will shorten the life of traction tires

hess
Offline H0  
#3 Posted : 03 July 2023 10:08:15(UTC)
H0

Originally Posted by: alehrfeld Go to Quoted Post
Does anybody know the problem, can someone please help me.
There may be several reasons.
Check there is no rust on the centre rail. Outer rails on C track and modern K track cannot rust, but centre rail still does.

Regards
Tom
---