Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline mjborelli  
#1 Posted : 22 January 2023 22:35:24(UTC)
mjborelli


Joined: 24/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 28
Location: Washington, Federal Way
Hello,

I previously used Windows based AnyRail to layout my hybrid train board with 3 Lionel O guage loops and 3 Marklin HO gauge loops. I haven't used Mac based RailModeller Pro yet to replicate and add to my track layout. Has anyone used RailModeller Pro for Marklin HO layouts and if so how did it work for your?

Thanks for your assistance on this request.

Mike
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by mjborelli
Offline pederbc  
#2 Posted : 23 January 2023 00:21:06(UTC)
pederbc

Sweden   
Joined: 11/06/2007(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: Eslöv, Sweden
Hi Mike,

I have, and are using it quite often. I’m very satisfied with Railmodeller and have used it for several years now. I only use C-tracks so I can’t vouch for other brands and types, but I feel confident that it’s OK.

Peder
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by pederbc
Offline Alsterstreek  
#3 Posted : 23 January 2023 22:42:47(UTC)
Alsterstreek

Germany   
Joined: 16/11/2011(UTC)
Posts: 5,396
Location: Hybrid Home
Originally Posted by: pederbc Go to Quoted Post
I have, and are using it quite often. I’m very satisfied with Railmodeller and have used it for several years now. I only use C-tracks so I can’t vouch for other brands and types, but I feel confident that it’s OK.
Same here, I do concur.
Offline Michael4  
#4 Posted : 23 January 2023 23:20:43(UTC)
Michael4

United Kingdom   
Joined: 02/02/2017(UTC)
Posts: 588
Location: England, South Coast
I use Railmodeller Pro quite often and am happy with it. I use it because it seems to be the only software available that has a library for M track on a Mac.

The only problem for me is that the software takes no account of the changes in track dimensions brought about by generations of children stamping on components, dogs chewing items or key pieces being used as bottle openers!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Michael4
Offline marklinist5999  
#5 Posted : 24 January 2023 01:22:39(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Location: Michigan, Troy
I used it and inventored all my C track with it. When it was time to design a route, because of my gradients being non standard, and C track having set lengths, it wasn't much help.
Nothing lined up or met up without gaps or being too long to connect. So cut and try was necessary for me. I had to use various short track sections,and even fudge am R1 with an R2 on a curve or two so things lined up smoothly. Ironically, they fit into the curved bridge ramps with a gap on the outer edege. Only I notice it. In the future, I may fix it all.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by marklinist5999
Offline Alsterstreek  
#6 Posted : 24 January 2023 08:17:45(UTC)
Alsterstreek

Germany   
Joined: 16/11/2011(UTC)
Posts: 5,396
Location: Hybrid Home
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
When it was time to design a route, because of my gradients being non standard, and C track having set lengths, it wasn't much help.
Nothing lined up or met up without gaps or being too long to connect. So cut and try was necessary for me. I had to use various short track sections,and even fudge am R1 with an R2 on a curve or two so things lined up smoothly.

Applying the “ramp function” allows to deal with any “custom” gradient and should offset the gap issue you describe. On my various layouts I had various ramps and gradients planned and documented with this app.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Alsterstreek
Offline xxup  
#7 Posted : 24 January 2023 08:46:27(UTC)
xxup

Australia   
Joined: 15/03/2003(UTC)
Posts: 9,394
Location: Australia
This is the only application that I use on my Mac. Very good software for planning M track layouts. The learning curve is a little high, but easier if you have already used other track planning software.
Adrian
UserPostedImage
Australia flag by abFlags.com
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by xxup
Offline einotuominen  
#8 Posted : 24 January 2023 12:21:00(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 126
Location: Kaarina
I too can recommend it. Also the Pro version is not expensive, worth the money.

-Eino
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline nhumps  
#9 Posted : 25 January 2023 04:46:35(UTC)
nhumps

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/12/2018(UTC)
Posts: 75
Location: Wellington
I only regret not buying the pro version earlier. The trial version is enough to test out a very basic layout.

Ramps/gradients can be tricky to get working until you are familiar with it.

I can echo everyone else, it’s a fantastic bit of software and priced reasonably.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by nhumps
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2023, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.741 seconds.