Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Beachie  
#1 Posted : 30 December 2022 08:31:52(UTC)
Beachie

Netherlands   
Greetings, I am new to the forum, US citizen living in Amsterdam. I have found great quality in the Marklin brand but still would like very much to run American diesels on my track.

Therefore, I was wondering before I switch to a different brand of track if it’s possible to run DC on the K rails?

I have heard it’s possible to run both AC and DC but I have no experience with this. Can anyone share insights or tips?
Offline PeFu  
#2 Posted : 30 December 2022 10:02:18(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Welcome to this great forum, Beachie! The question should not be AC or DC. This is mainly a matter of physics.

(1) Your engines could be ANALOGUE powered with AC or DC. As an alternative, they could be DIGITAL with Märklin-Motorola, Mfx and/or DCC protocols (there are further digital protocols available). To simplify, one can say digital power is something between AC and DC (as I don’t intend to start a ”square wave signal” discussion here…)

(2) Your engines could require ”2-RAIL” tracks (i.e. power and grounding from the outer rails via the wheels) or ”3-RAIL” tracks (i.e. power from the ”mid-rail” pukos via a pickup-shoe, grounding to the outer rails via the wheels). You may run AC or DC, digital Märklin-Motorola or Mfx or DCC protocols, on both types types of tracks.

(3) The Märklin K-tracks are intended for 3-rail purposes. However, on the regular straight, curved or flex K-tracks, the outer rails are insulated from each other, which makes them easy to use for 2-rail engines. Note that the outer rails are connected on the Marklin K feeder track # 2290 and on the standard turnouts, which have to be modified. On long radius turnouts, as the # 22715, the outer rails are insulated from each other.