Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline michelvr  
#1 Posted : 01 September 2022 19:46:55(UTC)
michelvr

Canada   
Time for me to do something in a different scale as I would like to make a “Switchman’s Nightmare” by Linn Westcott in Z scale. Please see picture below. I have zero experience in Z scale so I would like to ask, is this feasible or is this scale too small to shunt freight cars?

The other question I have is which is the better Z track, Märklin, Micro Trains or Rokuhan?

Your help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Regards, Michel

D83D90CC-F7E0-4344-893E-7684EA5619CD.pnglayout.
Offline Zme  
#2 Posted : 01 September 2022 23:19:38(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Hello, hope all is well.

I have never tried to create the switch “nightmare” you are inquiring about, but would think it is possible to do this in “Z”. There are many options with the Marklin brand of track.

I hope you find the z track plan document information useful for this. I can see the basic shape of your picture is perhaps similar to those shown on page 45 but add a few more switch points.

https://www.maerklin.de/...Buch_Spur_Z_komplett.pdf

There are different opinions about who makes the best track I only have the Marklin track and can tell you it takes longer to install because it must be ballasted. Even with this, as stated earlier, there are many options with the track pieces. I cannot say the same amount of options are available with the other track brands. It is nice when it comes with the ballast, but many also say, they don’t like the fake plastic look which you get. In this regard, it is your preference on how you want it to look.

Hope this helps. Take good care.

Dwight
Offline Toosmall  
#3 Posted : 02 September 2022 00:48:01(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia