Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ivan  
#1 Posted : 14 August 2022 13:59:21(UTC)
Ivan

Germany   
Märklin 3078 has no light. I inserted two Lichtkörper on both sides (image 1).Then built in two LEDs and calculated the resistor (440 Ohms). The light was too bright, besides I wanted to protect LEDs reverse breakdown voltage when current changes direction at 50 Herz (transformer supplies up to 16 V AC, even more when reversing direction). So I placed two resistors on both sides of feeding AC current (1000 Ohms each to make sure LEDs are well protected) I am not very experienced with electronics. The transformer supplies alternating current at 50 Herz cycles, meaning LEDs operate only in one direction of the current. Human eye cannot detect 50 changes per second, so there is no flickering.I was suggested elsewhere to insert a diode and a resistor into the circuit, but that is beyond my experience, and besides there is no enough room for diode. My question is whether my circuit with two resistors on both sides is OK ? It works well, light is warm white, not too bright and LEDs did not burn out.
Thanks.

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 14 August 2022 15:38:20(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Originally Posted by: Ivan Go to Quoted Post
... So I placed two resistors on both sides of feeding AC current (1000 Ohms each to make sure LEDs are well protected) I am not very experienced with electronics.
... I was suggested elsewhere to insert a diode and a resistor into the circuit, but that is beyond my experience, and besides there is no enough room for diode. My question is whether my circuit with two resistors on both sides is OK ? It works well, light is warm white, not too bright and LEDs did not burn out.