Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Matthew  
#1 Posted : 14 May 2022 16:09:38(UTC)
Matthew

South Africa   
Joined: 14/05/2022(UTC)
Posts: 1
Location: Western Cape
Good day everyone

I may be relocating to the USA from Africa where we use 220v input power. I have some anologue transformers,the blue plastic ones as well as metal ones which I use for my E Loks. I do intend to sell these and replace them with 110v transformers once in the USA as I have seen a few 110 V transformers on E bay. ( problem solved)

Ive thought of going the route of using a step up transformer which i can obtain locally but not sure if that is a good idea.

My only question is that I also have an old central station 1..Which is the catologue number for a transformer in the marklin range I can use to power up the Cs1 from 110v shore power?

Regards
Matthew
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Matthew
Offline marklinist5999  
#2 Posted : 14 May 2022 16:37:34(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,610
Location: Michigan, Troy
60045 is the 120 volt model. Unless you'll be in an apartment, all homes have 200-240 volt main panel capability. It isn't expensive to have an electrician install an outlet.
Our electric laundry dryers, cooking ranges and ovens, and central A/C is 220-240 volts.
Offline mike c  
#3 Posted : 14 May 2022 17:06:18(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,414
Location: Montreal, QC
North American 220V supply is still 60Hz and not 50Hz like other countries where the voltage norm is 220V.

Regards

Mike C
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by mike c
Offline kiwiAlan  
#4 Posted : 14 May 2022 20:50:15(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,813
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: mike c Go to Quoted Post
North American 220V supply is still 60Hz and not 50Hz like other countries where the voltage norm is 220V.

Regards

Mike C


That shouldn't be a problem, the problem is usually when trying to use a transformer specified for 60Hz only on 50Hz, as it doesn't have enough inductance in the windings to deal with the lower frequency. In this event it is likely to overheat, but using a 50Hz transformer on 60Hz is fine, unless it is a special sort of transformer, which the marklin ones are not.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Offline Mark5  
#5 Posted : 14 May 2022 21:52:34(UTC)
Mark5

Canada   
Joined: 29/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Location: Canada
Originally Posted by: Matthew Go to Quoted Post
.....
Ive thought of going the route of using a step up transformer which i can obtain locally but not sure if that is a good idea.
......
Regards
Matthew

Hello Matthew
All the best on your move.
I use a step down, step up, and have not had any problem. But I like the idea of getting an electrician to install a line for 220v. One of my friends had this done and it works brilliantly. One less box to intervene and each step up/step down has a limitation on power. Bought my step up step down in Portugal and used it for more than 15 years.
DB DR FS NS SNCF c. 1955-65, fan of V200, electrics and steam... so hard to narrow down...
...signaling systems, yard traffic and shunting, Sommerfeldt catenary,
and station architecture (esp. stations from 1920-70).
In process: a new modular layout, track planning and drawing benchwork.
Email anytime or chat live: https://discord.gg/jAEKyTWQPQ
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Mark5
Offline JohnjeanB  
#6 Posted : 15 May 2022 02:05:08(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,018
Location: Paris, France
Hi Matthew
Originally Posted by: Mark5 Go to Quoted Post
Hello Matthew
All the best on your move.
I use a step down, step up, and have not had any problem. But I like the idea of getting an electrician to install a line for 220v. One of my friends had this done and it works brilliantly. One less box to intervene and each step up/step down has a limitation on power. Bought my step up step down in Portugal and used it for more than 15 years.

Yes it is a brilliant idea provided the main sockets are different for 120 VAC and 240 VAC to avoid costly mistakes.
Here in France, when the voltage was changed from 110 VAC to 220 (later 230) VAC (back in 1956) we were provided with step-down transformers where the 110 VAC outlet was following a standard US main outlet.
Cheers
Jean

My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline rhfil  
#7 Posted : 15 May 2022 12:17:56(UTC)
rhfil

United States   
Joined: 05/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 203
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE, Somersworth
I think the cheapest solution is to buy a 110/120 V transformer. Unless your layout will be very close to the main fuse box running a 220V service will not be cheap.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by rhfil
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.434 seconds.