Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline BoKo  
#1 Posted : 14 March 2022 03:04:22(UTC)
BoKo

Hi guys!
I am a complete novice. I got a used Marklin train from a friend who went to Europe and I have a problem connecting the transformer to the tracks. The transformer has three outputs marked with the letters "O", "B", "L". What and how can I connect to make the locomotive go??
Can someone explain this to me?

Regards

BoKo
Offline PJMärklin  
#2 Posted : 14 March 2022 12:26:42(UTC)
PJMärklin

Australia   
Originally Posted by: BoKo Go to Quoted Post
Hi guys!
I am a complete novice. I got a used Marklin train from a friend who went to Europe and I have a problem connecting the transformer to the tracks. The transformer has three outputs marked with the letters "O", "B", "L". What and how can I connect to make the locomotive go??
Regards BoKo

Hi BoKo,

Whilst it may somewhat vary a bit depending on whether you are running analogue or digital, if you are using "M", "K" or "C" track, if you have an actual “transformer” (as you say) or other “power source” or what kind of connections you have from the “power source” to the track, there remain a few generalisations, particularly when taken back to the basic principles of analogue :

- "B" stands for “Bahn” (literally “train”) but refers to the “centre rail” (= “puko/studs/active current”). The connecting wire is traditionally coloured red. This carries in analogue a variable voltage controlled by the red controller handle of 7–> 16 ~V with 24 ~V on the reverse red handle action, when compared to the “O” connection voltage of "earth" zero.