Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages«<456
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline mike c  
#251 Posted : 11 May 2022 19:43:46(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,421
Location: Montreal, QC
Originally Posted by: rbw993 Go to Quoted Post
According to Wascosa's website the "Tank Car 3000" is not this type of car. It is the Zans type used for mineral oil. There is a Zacens for chemical loading but not in the "Tank Car 3000" livery.

Regards,
Roger


I did manage to find a photo of a Zacens in the Wascosa blue livery, but it is not a "Tank Car 3000" and they were registered in CZ not in NL.
https://interessante-bil...us-tschechien-441734.jpg

The "Tank Car 3000" was an upgraded Euro Tank Car (Zans) with improved buffer beams and other security design features incorporated.

Regards

Mike C
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by mike c
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#252 Posted : 11 May 2022 22:57:01(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,364
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
The book has 160 pages, with 25 plans in K and C track. But I wonder if this is really just a reprint of layouts presented in the Marklin Magazine.


Yes, the thought of reprints of layouts from the Marklin Magazine occurred to me. Might be paying again for something I've already got.....

Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I'm up for the store Loco and wagon, but now I need to expand the number of wagons so that each loco has a full set ... Blink Crying


I've been cheating in that regard. I got hold of some of the Insider container wagons which have the same flatcar as the previous Store loco container wagons but cost half the price. I bought some containers (heaps on Aliexpress, but I got some locally), painted them matt black and glued a made-up version of the logo to the containers. I got the logo fairly close but you can see the difference up close but if anyone didn't know they wouldn't tell the difference. A friend in the MMRC, who before retirement was a printer and has a printer friend, went around to his printer mate's shop and printed my made-up logo as sticky labels on an adhesive sheet.

I also have just received from the Lokshop a set of Trix long wheelbase flat wagons with Carlsberg containers. I can either put a made up 40ft / 20ft container on each and run with my Store locos or run with the Carlsberg containers.

KM1 are producing some Gauge 1 container wagons (Marklin cancelled their ones) and you buy either pre-labeled containers or blank grey containers for use with the wagons. I've ordered both, so the blank ones will get painted black, for which I will have to get my made-up logo upsized......
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline I_love_Marklin_37538  
#253 Posted : 31 May 2022 09:20:45(UTC)
I_love_Marklin_37538


Joined: 19/09/2008(UTC)
Posts: 937
Location: ,
Just a question, does anyone know when will the second insider model be announced?
Offline TGV POS  
#254 Posted : 31 May 2022 09:25:27(UTC)
TGV POS

France   
Joined: 30/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 64
Location: Centre-Val de Loire
Originally Posted by: I_love_Marklin_37538 Go to Quoted Post
Just a question, does anyone know when will the second insider model be announced?


This is today at 13hour (Paris o'clock)
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by TGV POS
Offline vilithejou  
#255 Posted : 31 May 2022 10:02:30(UTC)
vilithejou


Joined: 17/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 800
Location: Vic, Barcelona
Originally Posted by: TGV POS Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: I_love_Marklin_37538 Go to Quoted Post
Just a question, does anyone know when will the second insider model be announced?


This is today at 13hour (Paris o'clock)


Elektrolok BR E 71.1 (H0) 39771
Güterwagen-Set (H0) 48825


Many Thanks to Rafael Bonet
Joan Vilarrúbia
vilithejou@yahoo.es
Fan of Märklín, Kroko lover
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by vilithejou
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#256 Posted : 31 May 2022 13:48:18(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,364
Location: New Zealand
Screenshot 1.JPG

Screenshot 2.JPG

Screenshot 3.JPG

Screenshot 4.JPG

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline marklinist5999  
#257 Posted : 31 May 2022 14:17:45(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,659
Location: Michigan, Troy
Very nice! I have a #43031 blue Roco 2 rail version with a 40 jare DB anniversary donnerbuchsen 4 car set with a book in a book style case.
This was nicknamed the fat little girl. My fomer dealer told me. She was from Dusseldorf.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by marklinist5999
Offline shannon  
#258 Posted : 31 May 2022 14:58:40(UTC)
shannon


Joined: 27/01/2005(UTC)
Posts: 366
Location: Taipei,

Totally unrealistic pantograph compared to the prototype in the movie ....Blink
Offline marklinist5999  
#259 Posted : 31 May 2022 15:03:35(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,659
Location: Michigan, Troy
How so? Were they black, not red? I'll ask Sommerfeldt. I think they make them for Marklin.
I just relaized the new 72000 couplers aren't current conducting.
Offline jonas_sthlm  
#260 Posted : 31 May 2022 15:30:57(UTC)
jonas_sthlm

Sweden   
Joined: 12/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 759
Location: Stockholm, Södermalm
Originally Posted by: shannon Go to Quoted Post

Totally unrealistic pantograph compared to the prototype in the movie ....Blink


Something you need to live with, its M LOL

Check out the new Swedish Rc6 engine that gets pantograph developed since 1992, I get goosebumps Huh

See the positive, it manages to start following the buffer NEM standard....
Large Swedish train collection / CS3+ / 2x 60175 Booster /TC9 Gold/RemoteCS2/ K, C-Tracks / Favorites Class littRa/ Scale from the 1980s / Homepagemodelltag.seandyoutube.com
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by jonas_sthlm
Offline shannon  
#261 Posted : 31 May 2022 15:35:53(UTC)
shannon


Joined: 27/01/2005(UTC)
Posts: 366
Location: Taipei,
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
How so? Were they black, not red? I'll ask Sommerfeldt. I think they make them for Marklin.
I just relaized the new 72000 couplers aren't current conducting.


Please pay attention to the contact strip of pantograph in the prototype showed in the picture, which is standing on the upper arm of pantograph not attached on the upper arm as Marklin made.

Screenshot_2022-05-31-21-12-54-18.jpg

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by shannon
Offline marklinist5999  
#262 Posted : 31 May 2022 16:27:59(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,659
Location: Michigan, Troy
The wiper is quite thin. My book shows a very detailed photo. It would be so very delicate in ho scale, and likely break extremely easy. Also the connection points where the pivoting arms connect are not protypical. They are bent loops in the red wire stock going through the wiper mount holes. There is no other way to duplicate them in 1/87. Possiblt made of brass and soldered, but that would also be weak.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by marklinist5999
Offline shannon  
#263 Posted : 31 May 2022 16:53:03(UTC)
shannon


Joined: 27/01/2005(UTC)
Posts: 366
Location: Taipei,
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
The wiper is quite thin. My book shows a very detailed photo. It would be so very delicate in ho scale, and likely break extremely easy. Also the connection points where the pivoting arms connect are not protypical. They are bent loops in the red wire stock going through the wiper mount holes. There is no other way to duplicate them in 1/87. Possiblt made of brass and soldered, but that would also be weak.[/quote

Piko has made the correct prototype for a couple of vintage electric locomotives.

Here shows the picture of realistic pantograph in which you can see the moveable pivot and springs stretching to standing the contact strip up.

34948_51410_2021-05-07_Nietungen.jpg[

maxresdefault.jpg

51540_MG_4276.jpg

Edited by user 01 June 2022 02:09:54(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline marklinist5999  
#264 Posted : 31 May 2022 21:48:22(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,659
Location: Michigan, Troy
Rather blurry pic.
Offline shannon  
#265 Posted : 01 June 2022 02:15:42(UTC)
shannon


Joined: 27/01/2005(UTC)
Posts: 366
Location: Taipei,
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
Rather blurry pic.


Higher pixels pictures replaced

Offline danmarklinman  
#266 Posted : 01 June 2022 11:28:34(UTC)
danmarklinman

United Kingdom   
Joined: 18/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,320
Hi, it looks like a nice little model. Not sure what all the fuss is about. I would prefer a pantograph which was at least sturdy enough to allow for pantograph to wire use. There’s nothing worse than a floppy pantograph 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Marklin and Piko era 4 SNCB , Marklin wagons
Wiking model car Fan
Faller fan including car system
Instagram: marklin1978
Wiking fan
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by danmarklinman
Offline Goofy  
#267 Posted : 01 June 2022 18:21:35(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,553
I like E71 but i wonder if the sounds will be correct?
Märklin use often standard sound file.
H0
DCC = Digital Command Control
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Goofy
bphxxupDonb
Offline kiwiAlan  
#268 Posted : 01 June 2022 22:23:16(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,856
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
I like E71 but i wonder if the sounds will be correct?
Märklin use often standard sound file.


why wouldn't they be correct? There are two prototype examples they can record.

Offline Bigdaddynz  
#269 Posted : 01 June 2022 22:37:03(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,364
Location: New Zealand
There's plenty of ICE 4's available to record, but they still managed to get its horn to sound like a Cow's fart!

Goofy is correct - look at how many steam locos use the same generic whistle - class 44's, 50's, etc.
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline dickinsonj  
#270 Posted : 02 June 2022 01:01:09(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Location: United States
Totally agree.

I have some really beautiful Marklin locos but the generic operating sounds are pretty much all the same, except in just a few rare cases. I had hoped that they would be doing much better than that by now, especially considering the costs of their current models.

If they can't manage to record the actual sounds on their own, other companies already some very good ones out there that they might want to buy.

Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Offline applor  
#271 Posted : 02 June 2022 04:26:59(UTC)
applor

Australia   
Joined: 21/05/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,529
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
The new E71.1 is spot on for my layout year of representation so looks like another e-lok for my shopping list
modelling 1954 Germany (era IIIa)
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by applor
Offline H0  
#272 Posted : 02 June 2022 09:52:11(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,569
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
There are two prototype examples they can record.
As I understand it there are three locos on display, but no longer operational. Probably no chance to get sound recordings.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Online kimballthurlow  
#273 Posted : 02 June 2022 10:40:49(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 6,282
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Regarding the pantograph fabrication, here is a model made by Roco (model 43816) I think in the 1990s.
I purchased this already modified digitally for 3 rail, and I am exceedingly pleased with it.
Note that the pantograph appears to mirror the prototype as shown in Post #261.
UserPostedImage

Anyway I will be ordering the Märklin Insider version 39771 because it has a different running number.
I am not concerned if the pantograph is different.
Much modification was done in various workshops and for different reasons in real life to make no two engines of the same class identical.
It is not worth getting stressed about in my opinion.
I just enjoy the models for what they are.

Another point about the Roco 43816 model is that it is made of metal and only the cab overlays are plastic.
Here is my review of two of this type of small early electric locomotives.
Roco and Märklin early electrics

KImball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep II-III and VI, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (Queensland Australia, UK, USA) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - old clockwork O gauge.
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by kimballthurlow
Offline marklinist5999  
#274 Posted : 02 June 2022 14:01:51(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,659
Location: Michigan, Troy
The Marklin model used to have a unique buildup with the old type of motor. Now retooled with a can motor cardan shafts like the Roco has. As for sound, we'll have to see.
Marklin doesn't usually say in an item description if the sound is generic or protoypical. However, they do use a 32 bit sound decoder, and often protypical. I have thre of their newer electric Loc's all with diffferent running sound. The 36182 Vectron sounds like one, as does the 39197, but different. It's motor sound increases with speed.
The SBB Re 421 soiunds like one, with the step relay clicks as the speed increases.
Aren't factory decoders locked anyway? That negates any sound file changes.
Offline bph  
#275 Posted : 02 June 2022 14:51:55(UTC)
bph

Norway   
Joined: 04/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
Aren't factory decoders locked anyway? That negates any sound file changes.


Actually, they are "open", and you can change the project as you like on new locomotives.
But you must use the designated project from Märklin as a base, and it's currently only possible using mDecoderTool together with CS3/2.
and as a side note, Marklin has released an updated sound project for the 37997, with improved running sound etc.
The first release for 37997 was 7,32MB and the new one is 13,1MB.

So on the recent DSB E 991, I downloaded some sounds from www.toglyde.dk, and included those in my custom project.
E.g. replaced the standard Märklin coal shuffle sound with an actual one from the 991. (modified the one from toglyde.dk).
at the same time, I often adjust the individual steam sound volumes like unloaded, normal and standing still(Grundrauschen). This is because those parameters are only possible to change during the complete programming of the decoder.



thanks 2 users liked this useful post by bph
Offline kiwiAlan  
#276 Posted : 02 June 2022 15:04:21(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,856
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post

Aren't factory decoders locked anyway? That negates any sound file changes.


As bph notes, recent ones are available.

All msd/3 decoder sound projects for produced locos are available on the marklin website for download, on the item catalogue page. When installing the decoder programmer is installed it gives the opportunity to download the whole gamut of production projects from Marklin, Trix and LGB that use msd/3 decoders including all the additional wagons that have sound decoders.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Offline dickinsonj  
#277 Posted : 03 June 2022 00:59:53(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Location: United States
I am confused - not that this is the first time. BigGrin

I have programmed mSD/3 decoders starting with Marklin project files, but the last time I tried to access a factory decoder with my mDecoderTool it reported that it was not an upgrade decoder and exited. I did not use it with my CS3, but with a laptop running the mDecoderTool program, does that make a difference?

Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Online kimballthurlow  
#278 Posted : 03 June 2022 10:26:35(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 6,282
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Video of 39771 Insider Model #2 for 2022.

Märklin have gone to quite some trouble to stage this video, including an end scene where the real loco moves past the model set in the foreground.
It must have been pushed, because I believe it cannot move under catenary power.
From the video, I have noted the following detail on the wagon set 48825.

The Pwg home station is Karlsruhe, number DB 120 534.
The Omm 34 open wagon is numbered DB 826 133 and loaded with coal.

The Oppeln Gmrs 30 closed van is lettered DR 223 506 Brit-US-Zone.
Closed van München G is lettered DR Zone Fr. nummer 52 438, and has diagonal reinforcing steel section on the lower body side corners.
G10 van is lettered DB 113 798, and has diagonal reinforcing steel section on the lower body side corners. This van also has end of train marker recepticals.

Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep II-III and VI, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (Queensland Australia, UK, USA) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - old clockwork O gauge.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kimballthurlow
Offline bph  
#279 Posted : 03 June 2022 13:06:32(UTC)
bph

Norway   
Joined: 04/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
I am confused - not that this is the first time. BigGrin

I have programmed mSD/3 decoders starting with Marklin project files, but the last time I tried to access a factory decoder with my mDecoderTool it reported that it was not an upgrade decoder and exited. I did not use it with my CS3, but with a laptop running the mDecoderTool program, does that make a difference?

Hi
Currently, the way to do it is to have the locomotive on the programming track and program it from the mDecoderTool through the CS2/3.
note that this is at your own risk and takes a long time, approx 45-50 mins. And you can not use the CS3/2 for other things during the programming. and I would recommend turning off power on the regular track.
So far I have reprogramed 10 factory fitted decoders, and no one was bricked. Some decoders requires a firmware update, and some older decoders are only 32MBit, and require you to manually stay below the 32MBit limit as mDecoderTool doesn't recognise these decoders (eg decoder part no 259851). clapcott Offline has an excellent overview of decoders in this post.
Once a network error occurred during programming, and the CS3 automatically restored back the old decoder project. So all I had to do was program it again.


thanks 2 users liked this useful post by bph
Offline dickinsonj  
#280 Posted : 04 June 2022 01:13:29(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: bph Go to Quoted Post

Hi
Currently, the way to do it is to have the locomotive on the programming track and program it from the mDecoderTool through the CS2/3.

Thanks for the info BPH. That was what I thought, but I could not understand why it doesn't work on a PC running the same app but much, much faster through a direct USB connection. But just being able to update the orignal decoders is a huge step forward, and I was not aware that it worked using the CS3. ThumpUp

I just wanted to make sure I understood - making sense is optional. BigGrin
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
6 Pages«<456
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.287 seconds.