Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Don Morris  
#1 Posted : 09 July 2021 04:33:12(UTC)
Don Morris

New Zealand   
Joined: 14/01/2016(UTC)
Posts: 22
Has anyone had success setting up un-coupler control using m83 configured to 8 addresses. I found a document relating to k83 where the power wire, (yellow) from two un-coulpers was connected to the appropriate middle connector and the control wire, (blue) connected to the connections either side. according to the document this works on the k83 installation. Tried the same configuration using m83 with no success. On the config. set up I chose 8 switches 8 addresses. Any suggestions, apologies for the long blurb.
Offline Goofy  
#2 Posted : 09 July 2021 06:24:39(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,448
The old k83 do only have 4 adress output which also m83 should have same way if you want to control uncouplers.
CS3...H0...
Offline Ross  
#3 Posted : 09 July 2021 06:38:09(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 785
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Don,

Yes you can use a k83 for un-coupler tracks as you describe.

The problem is controlling them, you don't mention how you control them.

If you use a central unit then the controlling push button must be cycled between red (uncoupler 1 )and green (un-coupler 2) for the same digital address.
How long you hold the button down will determine how long the un-coupler stays switched on.

If you use computer software then you can specify a pushbutton only for the red digital (address xxx) and another push button for the green using the same digital address xxx.

Hope this helps

Originally Posted by: Don Morris Go to Quoted Post
Has anyone had success setting up un-coupler control using m83 configured to 8 addresses. I found a document relating to k83 where the power wire, (yellow) from two un-coulpers was connected to the appropriate middle connector and the control wire, (blue) connected to the connections either side. according to the document this works on the k83 installation. Tried the same configuration using m83 with no success. On the config. set up I chose 8 switches 8 addresses. Any suggestions, apologies for the long blurb.


Ross
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ross
Offline rhfil  
#4 Posted : 10 July 2021 21:52:51(UTC)
rhfil

United States   
Joined: 05/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 159
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE, Somersworth
I was able to configure an M84 to control uncouplers but not sure if the same procedure can be used with an M83. You should be able to find the thread in here on how to do that.
Offline Don Morris  
#5 Posted : 14 July 2021 02:11:42(UTC)
Don Morris

New Zealand   
Joined: 14/01/2016(UTC)
Posts: 22
Thanks for your replies. to clarify the issue I would like to control 8 un-couplers through an m83 via a cs3, I have tried several connection set ups with no success, any ideas. Thanks
Offline Goofy  
#6 Posted : 14 July 2021 20:31:08(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,448
CS3...H0...
Offline JohnjeanB  
#7 Posted : 14 July 2021 22:44:20(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,761
Location: Paris, France
Hi Don
Originally Posted by: Don Morris Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for your replies. to clarify the issue I would like to control 8 un-couplers through an m83 via a cs3, I have tried several connection set ups with no success, any ideas. Thanks

This is simple
- on the top menu select Edit (with a wrench)
- then select edit article list
- then add an article (pushing + at the end of the list
cs3_screenshot_2021_07_13_09_43_12.png
Here the new article is X1 at address 7 with protocol MM
- select the address you want, the protocol (MM or DCC)
-select the type by pressing the Misc key
cs3_screenshot_2021_07_13_09_46_53.png
You can select the normal uncoupler (left one) and also the connection (Red or Green) at the bottom center of screen.
You can repeat the operation for a second uncoupler with same address, different color (Green if you selected red previously)
Finished
You end up with a screen like this
cs3_screenshot_2021_07_13_09_57_41.png
Note that the address (7 in my case) is displayed in RED as a warning to remind you that the address is already used by another article (the other uncoupler. This is normal and NOT an error
I hope this helps
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline Don Morris  
#8 Posted : 15 July 2021 04:39:42(UTC)
Don Morris

New Zealand   
Joined: 14/01/2016(UTC)
Posts: 22
Thanks Jean. wet day here, I will have a go at it this afternoon. Regards Don
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.580 seconds.