Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline SJN  
#1 Posted : 28 October 2020 00:43:24(UTC)
SJN

Denmark   
Hi Guys.

Im a total newbie to trains. I dont even have a Marklin train track yet.....but will have one tomorrow :-)

I do own two Roco trains that have the 3 rail system, and one has a lokpilot decoder in it, and the other a loksound 2 in it. So both are for digital AC use.
Im going to buy the Marklin no 29000 digital starter set which has an oval track and the mobile station and power pack and connector box. That should get those running.

I also have some old analog DC train sets, and was reading up about how people converted them by installing a 3rd rail under the train, and wiring it up correctly to ESU decoder.

Then I thought......would it be possible to just modify the Marklin track instead ? . Cut the connection of the 2 train rails so they are isolated from each other, and then just connect the control box to each seperate track..and just not use the middle power rail at all. ..just lake a normal DC track is ?

Then I would not have to install a thrid rail under the train....... as it would just pick up on each side of the train as the wheels are isolated already . Of course I would install a lokpilot in the old analog train so it can work with the Marklin control box.