Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Drongo  
#1 Posted : 24 October 2019 05:30:17(UTC)
Drongo

Australia   
Joined: 03/06/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,051
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Everyone,

Whoever designed the Turntable (7286) to be used with decoder (7687) must be a very sadistic "person" - not allowed to use bad language on the forum.

Anyway, I'm having nightmares trying to get things working - sometimes they do and mostly they don't. The instructions are written for people who know what to do, NOT to instruct people who don't know. The TT & decoder are so temperamental that it's beyond a joke. I have 2 decoders (7687) and both have failed on me i.e. they work for awhile and then they die. Either I've wired it up incorrectly or the product is cheap rubbish. The latter I feel as it's typical of Marklin's electronic products.

Can someone please direct me to a video with the instructions (in English, please) so that I can get the TT working. Also, can someone recommend an alternative decoder to the 7687 which is far more reliable.

Regards
Greg
Take it easy . . . . or any other way you can get it !!!!
Website - www.simplesite.com/gregstrain
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 24 October 2019 12:06:09(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 893
Location: Paris, France
Hi Greg

I don't have the 7686 decoder but I read a number of complains about its implementation and memory problems
On my 7286 TT I have installed a DSD2010 decoder made by DigitalBahn. It is sophisticated and IMO the most powerful one.
It allows
- up to 3 rail sensors on the bridge to detect locos position
- 2 speed control of rotation
- optical sensor for TT position (no more klac klac noise when reaching a track
- it can drive 4 signals, cabin lighting, flashlight, sound all digital controlled.

It is made of 2 decoders: one under the bridge ("Bühne")and one outside ("Grube")
It is sold as a kit with all SMCs (Surface mounted components) already wired). The cost is 135€
The manuals can be downloaded here:
- user's manual https://digital-bahn.de/shopping...sd2010_anleitung_1v7.pdf
- installation manual https://digital-bahn.de/shopping...010_einbau_anleitung.pdf
- all other documentations (wiring instruction, test protocol, etc https://www.digital-bahn.de/bau_ds2010/dsd2010_doku.htm

The configuration and diagnostic software can be download (no charge) here https://www.digital-bahn.de/bau_ds2010/exe/dsd2010_070.exe
The changes to be made to the TT are:
- the removal of the electromagnetic latch / solenoid
- the addition of the opto-sensor for the bridge rotation
- the wiring of signals (optional)
- the plugging of a SUSI sound module (optional)

This is an excellent product (the best IMO) BUT
- the instructions are in German
- the wiring of the bridge is delicate
- the decoder connection to the PC is using an RS232 link so if your PC doesn't have one you need a USB/RS232 converter

You may see the result here in automatic operation using Rocrail


So in short it is an ambitious project that is worth the while.
Cheers

Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline DaleSchultz  
#3 Posted : 24 October 2019 14:42:45(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,357
Hi Greg,

correct the decoder is an awful product.

I used a K84 module instead - which I describe here: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com/2004/12/Digitizing-turntable-7286.html
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline PMPeter  
#4 Posted : 24 October 2019 17:36:11(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,061
Location: Port Moody, BC
I use the LDT TT-DEC-G decoder for mine and am very happy with it.
Offline French_Fabrice  
#5 Posted : 24 October 2019 19:04:10(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,275
Location: Lyon, France
Same as Peter, I use the LDT TT-DEC.

Read the doc here: http://www.ldt-infocente...ungen/ttdec_06_13_en.pdf and see if it's more understandable.

Cheers
Fabrice
Offline Drongo  
#6 Posted : 08 November 2019 12:25:15(UTC)
Drongo

Australia   
Joined: 03/06/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,051
Location: Sydney, NSW
Thanks fellas for the advice. I ordered LDT TT-DEC and it arrived today. All I need is a quiet few hours with no interruptions and I'll give it a go.

Regards
Greg
Take it easy . . . . or any other way you can get it !!!!
Website - www.simplesite.com/gregstrain
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Drongo
Offline jbblunck  
#7 Posted : 24 November 2019 20:21:26(UTC)
jbblunck

United States   
Joined: 19/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 58
Location: Occidental, CA
Stumbled on this post after pulling my hair out with my 7286/7687 combo. Got the table basically working thru iTrain, but the track positions skip one or two slots when they are supposed to be adjacent. My guess is I'm running into a flaky decoder.

A couple questions:

How is the TT-DEC working out for you, Greg?

How tall is that heatsink on the TT-DEC decoder?

Have any of you run into any binding or indexing issues with the 7286? I'm finding that the table binds before one or more of my connections. I'm thinking this might be a leveling issue with the table, or perhaps the connector track is faulty.

My plan is to get the table to spin smoothly first, and then re-attack the 7687 decoder before I completely bag it.

Thoughts?



Offline DaleSchultz  
#8 Posted : 24 November 2019 21:33:43(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,357
My turntable also has awful running characteristics. I always assume due to long period of no use coupled with the horrible little Fleishman motor that was used. To make things worse I have found that now that I have landscaped in the edges, the bridge can no longer be removed to be serviced. So yes, getting that sucker to run smoothly should be your next step.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline jbblunck  
#9 Posted : 24 November 2019 22:07:39(UTC)
jbblunck

United States   
Joined: 19/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 58
Location: Occidental, CA
Hi Dale,

Some progress here as I fumble around.

I definitely have issues with two of the exit tracks. I've ordered another set of replacements that will hopefully fix that. Leveling doesn't seem to be the problem.

I have iTrain talking to the turntable, but it's moving 6 slots for every four positions. As in 1-2 gets me to 3. 1-4 gets me to 6. Something to do with how long the motor is told to run.

I'm going to try and program my Intellibox to run the table manually and see what happens.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by jbblunck
Offline Ross  
#10 Posted : 24 November 2019 22:24:51(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 717
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Joachim,

The first thing to check is make sure the centre rail spring contacts have movement.

If the bridge is jamming in a couple of positions only it is very likely that the track is too tight on those stub connections. This can be caused by having the hole too tight around the turntable or pushing the track up to the stub which in turn pushes the segment towards the centre of the turntable and the drive mechanism jams or the centre rail spring contacts jam. Expansion and contract of the layout timber will also cause this problem.

Ross
Offline jbblunck  
#11 Posted : 25 November 2019 03:26:06(UTC)
jbblunck

United States   
Joined: 19/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 58
Location: Occidental, CA
Some success:

Chalk some of this up to inexperience, and the rest to a big duh.

I was originally able to sort of cue the turntable from iTrain but this weird skipping was going on. It wasn't weird skipping, it was the table jumping to the factory-baked positions. I just hadn't programmed the table decoder, thinking that iTrain would do that. Nope.

So, I mapped the control buttons into a group in my Intellibox, popped the decoder into programming mode, and set up all the table positions. Worked like a charm. I must have one of the only reasonably working 7687s. The table now goes to the next available position, either clockwise or counter-clockwise. It even turns 180.

But, the Intellibox doesn't seem to be able to tell it to go to a specific position, nor does iTrain. Hmmm. That'll be my next duh, to be sure.

Still, there are a few access tracks that are misbehaving a bit mechanically -- replacements on order. Also easing the hole a bit in the tabletop, Ross.

Last, I'm not experiencing that condition where you have to delay the turntable's connection to Intellibox. It's remembering positions just fine on restarts, and doesn't accidentally drop into programming mode. Dumb luck or new Intellibox software?

Thanks for all your help. Apparently I was too dim to take total advantage. Ha!


Offline DaleSchultz  
#12 Posted : 25 November 2019 16:19:41(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,357
Glad you got it going! Yes you have to program the positions. It was that programming that I found would be lost over time.

The switch to delay getting power is only for when you need to program the TT decoder.

Normal operation does not require the powering up to be delayed.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.674 seconds.