Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Pfalzbahn  
#1 Posted : 16 October 2019 02:34:49(UTC)
Pfalzbahn

United States   
Joined: 05/10/2019(UTC)
Posts: 42
Location: Pennsylvania,
Hallo out there,

how would you close gaps in the K-track?

IMG_4624.jpg

Pfalzbahn
Offline PMPeter  
#2 Posted : 16 October 2019 02:44:32(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 987
Location: Port Moody, BC
Is this flex track or sectional track? Quite unusual to have this big a gap on sectional track.
Offline Pfalzbahn  
#3 Posted : 16 October 2019 02:48:42(UTC)
Pfalzbahn

United States   
Joined: 05/10/2019(UTC)
Posts: 42
Location: Pennsylvania,
It's flex track and I have several of them.
Offline DaleSchultz  
#4 Posted : 16 October 2019 02:59:04(UTC)
DaleSchultz


Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,122
well, I presume you have already pulled the rail all the way to one end, so there is only one gap to fill...

Glue something in there, or drop some solder in there. When it has cooled, file off the excess with a hand file.

It does not have to be conductive.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline PMPeter  
#5 Posted : 16 October 2019 02:59:24(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 987
Location: Port Moody, BC
OK since it is flex track and it appears that it has already been ballasted, what I would do is go to the next joint and insert a thin screw driver or utility knife to separate that joint a bit. If you then can get the gaps at each end of the rail to be about the same, I would then fill the 2 gaps with epoxy so that the rail doesn't shift again. This is what I do for the gaps I cut for my occupancy detection sensing.

Peter
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline TEEWolf  
#6 Posted : 16 October 2019 03:47:44(UTC)
TEEWolf

Germany   
Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 2,002
Originally Posted by: Pfalzbahn Go to Quoted Post
It's flex track and I have several of them.


Don't you have on the other side an overhanging piece as well, when you straighten the track? I do not have these flextracks, but the barns on the tie must move a little bit, otherwise you cannot build a curve with this track. But the more you bend it, the bigger has to occur a gap as you show in your picture. How massive did you bend the flex track?

I think this is really a big gap. Both flex tracks connected at this spot must be massivly bended. And the lenght differences between the outer radius from both tracks seems to be added up at this point creating such a big gap.

On the opposite site at this track you see both ends of the bars are a bit longer. Either you shorten them, make less massive curves, change this section against inflexible tracks or do it as it is done in real life at the real tracks. Connecting gaps are regularly welded and then abraded. But @PMPeter mentioned a possibility you may fill up the gap. To fill up the gap by soldering you must try and test it on your own, which result you will achieve. I think @PMPeters solution is good and more flexible as soldering.
CS 3 is a controlling station from Märklin - not a central station.
Offline hxmiesa  
#7 Posted : 16 October 2019 08:43:17(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,744
Location: Spain
Ahem... Thats not such a big gap! Blushing
-At least it wont give any operational problems.

Edited by user 16 October 2019 14:29:21(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline river6109  
#8 Posted : 16 October 2019 08:56:21(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,622
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Send it back to the engineers, just a drop of hot glue will do the job
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline JohnjeanB  
#9 Posted : 16 October 2019 20:06:48(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 578
Location: Paris, France
Hi

A small gap like this may be filled with a short section of rail held by the joiner.
Cheers

Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
Offline cookee_nz  
#10 Posted : 16 October 2019 20:28:13(UTC)
cookee_nz

New Zealand   
Joined: 31/12/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,141
Location: Paremata, Wellington
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi

A small gap like this may be filled with a short section of rail held by the joiner.
Cheers

Jean


Problem is it's already across a joiner and has been ballasted so any repair will do damage to that in which case it might as well be redone.

I agree with the advice to firstly try to gently shift the entire length of short rail to centre it so that there is a smaller gap at both ends rather than such a big gap at one end.

If this is not possible then filling it with solder or simply hot-glue will at least make it less obvious.
Cookee
Wellington
NZ image
Offline Minok  
#11 Posted : 16 October 2019 21:05:17(UTC)
Minok

United States   
Joined: 15/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,076
Location: Washington, Pacific Northwest
Consider first why the gap formed. If it formed from temperature reasons - so the cooler temp resulted in rail contraction and shortening and this created the gap, then filling it will cause you problems when the weather heats up again.

If its just a gap that was there from the installation not being ideal and it really bugs you (visually or the clack sound of wheels) one can glue in a small bit of polystyrene or other plastic, shape it to size then paint.
Toys of tin and wood rule!
---
My Layout Thread on marklin-users.net: InterCity 1-3-4
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/Minok1217/
Offline Pfalzbahn  
#12 Posted : 16 October 2019 23:21:34(UTC)
Pfalzbahn

United States   
Joined: 05/10/2019(UTC)
Posts: 42
Location: Pennsylvania,
Thanks to all of you for the advise!

I can't move the track any more; it's firmly ballasted. I'll try to fill it with solder. If that's not satisfactory I'll resort to epoxy.

Pfalzbahn

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Pfalzbahn
Offline applor  
#13 Posted : 16 October 2019 23:24:52(UTC)
applor

Australia   
Joined: 21/05/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,402
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Just leave it.
modelling 1954 Germany (era IIIa)
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by applor
Offline hxmiesa  
#14 Posted : 17 October 2019 08:58:24(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,744
Location: Spain
Originally Posted by: Minok Go to Quoted Post
Consider first why the gap formed. If it formed from temperature reasons - so the cooler temp resulted in rail contraction and shortening and this created the gap, then filling it will cause you problems when the weather heats up again.

I agree. -Also to what applor says; Just leave it!!!

I have these "gaps" in quite a lot of places. They move around with temperature and humidity!!!

If you absolutly HAVE to fill it up, do it with something soft, so that it can at least still be slightly deformed if the track decides to shift again.
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline DaleSchultz  
#15 Posted : 17 October 2019 15:17:18(UTC)
DaleSchultz


Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,122
Small gaps are fine and even provide a nice click clack that is prototypical... but if a loco or train can be seen to lurch as it goes over the gap, it is too big for me.

Small gaps are also good as expansion joints as suggested.

Possible gap source: Laying flex track requires that the two rails are often cut to different lengths if there is any curve present, and this can be difficult to do until one has got the technique right.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline JohnjeanB  
#16 Posted : 24 October 2019 13:40:35(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 578
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: Pfalzbahn Go to Quoted Post
Thanks to all of you for the advise!

I can't move the track any more; it's firmly ballasted. I'll try to fill it with solder. If that's not satisfactory I'll resort to epoxy.

Pfalzbahn



Hi

An easy action would be to cut a section of rail of the proper length. Then remove / file the rail "foot" sides so that the rail piece can be inserted vertically in the joiner and glued in place without changing anything in the existing track and ballasting.
Cheers

Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline Pfalzbahn  
#17 Posted : 24 October 2019 18:12:46(UTC)
Pfalzbahn

United States   
Joined: 05/10/2019(UTC)
Posts: 42
Location: Pennsylvania,
Thanks to all of you for your comments.

Most of the gaps I left since they were very small. A few larger ones (~1 mm) I filled with epoxy.

Cheers,

Pfalzbahn
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Pfalzbahn
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.704 seconds.