Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline PeFu  
#1 Posted : 14 May 2019 00:05:05(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 650
I’ve received my first ESU LokProgrammer, and I must say the software is very nice and user-friendly. I added a 2-pole alteration switch (On-Off-On), installed everything in the ”power cabinet”, and now I can use either the CS2 programming features or the ESU LokProgrammer without risking interference. Also, at ”Off” I have a power-free track when adding new trains to the layout. Me like! Cool

1F576CDA-2DF4-4062-8118-DD7353C087D7.jpeg
The Great Krok!
Inspired by Swiss railways (SBB/BLS/SOB), C and K track, CS2, TrainController Gold V9
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by PeFu
Offline TEEWolf  
#2 Posted : 14 May 2019 02:12:37(UTC)
TEEWolf

Germany   
Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 1,949
Originally Posted by: PeFu Go to Quoted Post
I’ve received my first ESU LokProgrammer, and I must say the software is very nice and user-friendly. I added a 2-pole alteration switch (On-Off-On), installed everything in the ”power cabinet”, and now I can use either the CS2 programming features or the ESU LokProgrammer without risking interference. Also, at ”Off” I have a power-free track when adding new trains to the layout. Me like! Cool

1F576CDA-2DF4-4062-8118-DD7353C087D7.jpeg


Is it for programming only or is it as a decoder tester usable too?

Quite expensive for 150 €.
CS 3 is a controller system from Märklin - not a central station.
Offline applor  
#3 Posted : 14 May 2019 06:09:27(UTC)
applor

Australia   
Joined: 21/05/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,395
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Great idea! I wish I had a fixed programming track that connected to my layout for programming and to add/remove trains. I am not sure I can do it anymore.


Originally Posted by: TEEWolf Go to Quoted Post


Is it for programming only or is it as a decoder tester usable too?

Quite expensive for 150 €.


Yes it lets you test all ESU decoders (including servos). Only limiting factor is protocol support is DCC and motorola, it can't test M4/MFX (you have to test with motorola), probably due to how M4 works.
modelling 1954 Germany (era IIIa)
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by applor
Offline PeFu  
#4 Posted : 14 May 2019 06:34:27(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 650
Originally Posted by: TEEWolf Go to Quoted Post

Is it for programming only or is it as a decoder tester usable too?

Quite expensive for 150 €.

Well it’s pretty advanced, a bit of a ”central station” as you both can program and test decoders. You can program all DCC decoders, including the DCC part of Märklin decoders. For other Märklin decoders, it’s nice to have the CS2 programming features. ESU LokProgrammer can also add downloaded sound files to ESU decoders. The below clip gives an overview (The testing features starts at 4 min 20 sec):

The Great Krok!
Inspired by Swiss railways (SBB/BLS/SOB), C and K track, CS2, TrainController Gold V9
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PeFu
Offline Purellum  
#5 Posted : 14 May 2019 07:02:31(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,175
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Originally Posted by: PeFu Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: TEEWolf Go to Quoted Post

Is it for programming only or is it as a decoder tester usable too?

Quite expensive for 150 €.

Well it’s pretty advanced, a bit of a ”central station” as you both can program and test decoders. You can program all DCC decoders, including the DCC part of Märklin decoders. For other Märklin decoders, it’s nice to have the CS2 programming features. ESU LokProgrammer can also add downloaded sound files to ESU decoders. The below clip gives an overview (The testing features starts at 4 min 20 sec):



It's a great kit Cool

Per.

Cool
If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Offline Gregor  
#6 Posted : 14 May 2019 08:46:50(UTC)
Gregor

Netherlands   
Joined: 17/04/2003(UTC)
Posts: 899
Location: Netherlands
I am installing a rotary switch to connect the programming track alternatively to:
1. Intellibox normal track
2. Intellibox programming track
3. ESU Lokprogrammer
4. Märklin Mobile Station

My programming track is a separate roller bed and a dedicated section on the layout, so I can program trains without taking them off the track.
When rotary switch is not in Position 1, power to the rest of the layout (controlled by Intellibox) is shut down. This prevents a train from driving unintentionally from into the programming track, thus connecting the outputs from two differente control systems.

Best regards,
Gregor
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.259 seconds.