Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline DV  
#1 Posted : 06 January 2019 08:00:09(UTC)
DV

Australia   
Joined: 29/11/2009(UTC)
Posts: 839
Location: Mount Barker, South Australia
Gave the new BR 65 a run at the club rooms, and not being up to scratch on all the functions, started pressing merrily away trying to work out what is what.

I came upon the two icons (marked in yellow) thinking they were some type of lighting function. Turned them on, and couldn't see any lights on or in the loco, and promptly forgot about them.

UserPostedImage

Before starting the loco I made certain that it was operating in standard mode, not mfx+.

Started slowly and was dismayed that I had to 'open her up' to full speed to get a semblance of speed.

Damn, I thought, I got a 'lemon'. Anyway hitched up some old Roco freight wagons (I'm still waiting for the passenger coaches that go with this loco - which are paid for Mr Meises Modellbahn Center - if you are reading this) and gave it a run - all of nearly five minutes



After the run decided to pull the train into the 'station', but before starting it, decided to turn off the 'marker lights', and, voila, the loco was running at proper speed.

Can someone please explain what those two functions are and why they slow the speed down to a crawl?

Hope you enjoyed the 'slow' run of the 65ThumpUp
Dusan V
'I find your lack of faith (in Märklin) disturbing'
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by DV
Offline Goofy  
#2 Posted : 06 January 2019 10:36:18(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 7,911
Try to reset the locomotive at CV 8.
Pull off the loco from the track and remove the loco in the CS2.
Put back the loco on the track and let the CS2 search automatic the loco.
Be sure you have mfx protocol enabled in the CS2.
DCC means Digital Command Control.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Goofy
Offline H0  
#3 Posted : 06 January 2019 11:25:38(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,423
Location: DE-NW
RTFM: Read the fancy manual!

F13: Switching light + Low speed switching range

F8: Red marker light (tender)


Or try Goofy's advice - once again he hit the nail on the tip. Cool
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline Goofy  
#4 Posted : 06 January 2019 11:49:43(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 7,911
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
RTFM: Read the fancy manual!

F13: Switching light + Low speed switching range

F8: Red marker light (tender)



You have low speed switching too as function F16.

DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline Goofy  
#5 Posted : 06 January 2019 11:52:31(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 7,911
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post



Or try Goofy's advice - once again he hit the nail on the tip. Cool


Thank you! ThumpUp
It´s a good advice to try anyway.

DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline dickinsonj  
#6 Posted : 10 January 2019 03:35:32(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,081
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
RTFM: Read the fancy manual!


Fancy? Funny how I always thought it meant a different word. BigGrin
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline dickinsonj  
#7 Posted : 10 January 2019 03:42:56(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,081
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post

F13: Switching light + Low speed switching range

F8: Red marker light (tender)


Märklin uses that icon for various things and you do have to read the manual to know what it means in each case. In software we would say that icon is overloaded, meaning that it can have more than one usage. What would be nice would be the ability to design and substitute your own icons for those, so that it was easier to keep track of what it means. Sometimes it is just a light and sometimes it modifies other behaviors as Tom points out for F13.

I look at it as my mental stimulation exercise to guard against letting my brain get lazy as I get older. Cool
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#8 Posted : 10 January 2019 04:49:39(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,528
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
RTFM: Read the fancy manual!


Fancy? Funny how I always thought it meant a different word. BigGrin


Yep, 'Fine'!

As in, 'Read the Fine Manual!' BigGrin
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
H0
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#9 Posted : 10 January 2019 04:51:04(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,528
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post



Or try Goofy's advice - once again he hit the nail on the tip. Cool


Thank you! ThumpUp
It´s a good advice to try anyway.



Maybe sarcasm doesn't translate so well into Swedish!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline kiwiAlan  
#10 Posted : 10 January 2019 12:02:51(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,262
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
RTFM: Read the fancy manual!


Fancy? Funny how I always thought it meant a different word. BigGrin


many years ago it was put to me as Read The Fine Manual BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin

Offline dickinsonj  
#11 Posted : 10 January 2019 21:35:26(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,081
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post


many years ago it was put to me as Read The Fine Manual BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin



Yeah - that is what I thought too. BigGrin
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline Goofy  
#12 Posted : 11 January 2019 18:14:05(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 7,911
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post



Or try Goofy's advice - once again he hit the nail on the tip. Cool


Thank you! ThumpUp
It´s a good advice to try anyway.



Maybe sarcasm doesn't translate so well into Swedish!


And Märklin present idiot function...
I wonder why two same function?
Sarcasm do Märklin by fool customer.
I´m pretty sure Märklin do have too many waste function and it seems they are desperat.
By the way...sometimes it helps by reset locomotive too.
I did had sometimes problem with the locomotive and did tried by reset them with the MS2 and it did helped.

DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline TEEWolf  
#13 Posted : 11 January 2019 23:12:15(UTC)
TEEWolf

Germany   
Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 1,554
Location: Bavaria
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
RTFM: Read the fancy manual!


Fancy? Funny how I always thought it meant a different word. BigGrin


many years ago it was put to me as Read The Fine Manual BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin



Oh I remembered (and found!!!) this MUN link

https://www.marklin-user...tionary-of-Abbreviations

and hurrah I found the abbreviation

RTFM = Read The Famous Manual
- abm hmsfix

abm = added by member
hmsfix = his avatar name

CS 3 is a controller system from Märklin - not a central station.
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by TEEWolf
Offline DV  
#14 Posted : 12 January 2019 01:37:25(UTC)
DV

Australia   
Joined: 29/11/2009(UTC)
Posts: 839
Location: Mount Barker, South Australia
Yup, everyone is absolutely correct...if all else fails, read the instructions.

And, yes, I was very lazy in not going to that step.

I do not have to reset the loco, it is working superbly and doing everything I expected from it.

What the initial problem was, I could not find my power unit for the CS3+ and had to use my old CS2 (which I hade updated to CS3 level).

On there it showed two icons (circled in yellow) which represented some type of light function.

UserPostedImage

Once I turned off both functions the loco worked normally (as explained in my first postConfused ).

When I finally got my power unit and I registered the loco on the CS3+ the second icon (circled in yellow in the photo) was not represented as a light function, but as the function for controlling speed. The first icon when pressed showed the rear lights in red...woohooBigGrin

All is good with the world, and sorry I confused everyone (although I thought I did a good job in explaining what the problem wasConfused Confused Confused - seems some jumped to wrong conclusions, oh well, I'll just have to try harder in my explanations next timeThumpUp ), and the loco is fantasticThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp
Dusan V
'I find your lack of faith (in Märklin) disturbing'
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by DV
Offline H0  
#15 Posted : 12 January 2019 09:53:45(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,423
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: DV Go to Quoted Post
[...] I thought I did a good job in explaining what the problem was
Your problem description was very clear.
Nuffin' to beg pardon for.

A decoder reset helps to turn off a function you previously turned on. Maybe not the most efficient way, but it can be done like that.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
DV
Offline Purellum  
#16 Posted : 12 January 2019 13:03:37(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,990
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
A decoder reset helps to turn off a function you previously turned on.


I do a similar thing every time I accidentally press CapsLock on my computer. Blink

Just restart the computer and CapsLock is automatically turned off. LOL

Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Maybe not the most efficient way, but it can be done like that.


Per.

Cool
If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
thanks 6 users liked this useful post by Purellum
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.665 seconds.